新警察故事
New Police Story (2004)


Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 04/07/2011


Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: ewaffle
Date: 10/31/2010

"New Police Story" has a lot going for it. It is full of great stunts and outstanding fights that are beautifully choreographed and shot. Jackie Chan looks almost as athletic and powerful as ever and has some melodramatic scenes in which he looks anguished and heartbroken. There is a zany sidekick well played by Nicholas Tse, a long suffering (and eventually really suffering) girlfriend impersonated by Charlie Yeung, a band of bad guys who are truly evil led by Daniel Wu. His Joe Kwan makes Norman Bates look like a sympathetic character. Charlene Choi stays as cute as a pool of baby otters while Yu Rong-Guang is craggy and tough.

The action includes a bus smashing through cars, phone booths and shopping malls like a battering ram never slowing down for a moment. The bus causes plate glass windows to shatter simply by driving past them and takes Inspector Chan for a merry ride. Andy On, whose greatest fan I am not, does very well as Chan's main unarmed combat opponent. Enough small arms ordinance is expended to keep Smith and Wesson humming for a few shifts. Settings are used creatively: in addition to the bus there is a running fight in a Lego museum, a terrific stand-off pitting Tse and Chan against a bunch of thugs in a bar using trays of glassware, buckets of ice and a barstool although not in the typical Jackie Chan co-opting of industrial objects--partially assembled cars, for example, or the tools in an auto repair shop. Here the fighters just grab whatever is at hand--ice, beer steins, furniture--and hit the other guy with it.

The last action scene is full of wretched excess from it setting on the roof of a building that looks like a knock-off of the Sidney Opera House constructed from cheap sheet metal to the by the numbers confrontation of Joe Kwan junior and Joe Kwan senior to the finale with its deus ex machina appearance of firefighters to save Chan and Frank Cheng from plummeting to their deaths. The officially official engagement of Chan and Ho Yee (she had returned his ring before she was almost killed, barely survived a bomb attack that put her in a coma and disfigured her face) involves a cast of hundreds of police officers and hospital workers and is so insanely romantic that only the most cynical would be unmoved.

The real problems of "New Police Story" are with the script-or at least that part of the script which is "stuff between actions scenes". The writing is so weak, so predictable and so poorly motivated that it falls attention to its shortcomings--what should serve as graceful transitions between slaughtering policemen and rappelling down the side of a skyscraper while wearing inline skates is instead a clunky mess that makes one wish Jackie Chan and company had cut 45 minutes from the movie and just strung the action scenes together with explanatory title cards between them for those who were interested in why the bloodshed was happening.

In a couple of cases the problem isn't with "New Police Story" itself but with its genre--the Hong Kong police are not only unable to secure their own headquarters against a cop killing maniac with a bomb wrapped as a present but they show him exactly where to go with it and then lot him escape. But something like that had to happen since Chan and Ho Yee needed to reconfirm their love while trying to disarm a very treacherous explosive since action movies with a lone wolf hero fighting an implacable and ubiquitous enemy are characterized the world over by incompetent police forces.

Less forgivable is the rationale given for Joe Kwan's hatred of the police--it's Oedipal in a vulgar sense but never credible; the reason for Frank Cheung's total devotion to Inspector Chan--it's creepy but unbelievable or why the gang of cop killers were allowed into the jail to taunt Chan. The script of an action movie doesn't have to be a narrative masterpiece but spectacular effects should have plausible causes at least within the frame of reference of the film itself.

"New Police Story" is still a very enjoyable movie. A runaway monster bus smashing into a truck and pushing it along with its cargo of yellow rubber ducks into Hong Kong harbor covers a lot of sins.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: AV1979
Date: 09/28/2008
Summary: Fantastic Comeback!!!

After a string of Hollywood failures, Jackie Chan knew it was time to come back to Hong Kong. However, he needed just the right project. Enter screenwriter Alan Yuen and director Benny Chan. This is definitely Chan's comeback film as he shows how he can both do the usual action set pieces and mix it with some of the dramatic skills that he longed to showcase.

Plus, it becomes a passing of the torch of sorts as in 1999, Jackie claimed that Nicholas Tse was going to be the next big action star and what better way than to have the young Tse team up with Chan as a wannabe cop who holds the key to Chan's returning to work as a cop after his entire team is killed by a gang of evil Gen-Xers, led by Daniel Wu.

What helps the film is the distinction of what exactly is "superior". Chan plays a once-superior officer who becomes "inferior" to Wu's methods and ends up becoming a drunken recluse. Wu seems to be the superior force as he and his team of robbers (Terence Yin, Coco Chiang, Andy On, and Hiro Hayama) seem to have taken Hong Kong by storm until we learn why Wu is the gang leader he is...all due to emotional abuse from his father, a respected superintendent.

It is also great to see the return of Charlie Yeung, who comes back to the HK screens after a seven year hiatus as Chan's long suffering girlfriend Ho Yee, who has mourned the loss of her brother, one of Chan's team members, but ultimately forgives him and hopes he will cope with what has happened and move on to marry her.

The action is top notch here as we see Chan go toe-to-toe with Andy On, who definitely has improved, but due to a hamstring injury, was doubled for the last fight by JC Stunt Team member Park Hyun-Jin. However, for the most part, On holds his own. Another highlight is seeing Chan and Tse in action at a local bar where they take on goons hired by Wang Chieh (Dave Wang). And as a welcome reference to the original Police Story, we have a very nicely shot double decker bus chase sequence that looks and ends on a high note.

To see the "real Jackie Chan" once again, this is definitely worth looking out for!!! A must for Chan fanatics and HK film fans who missed Chan's HK glory.

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: steve_cole1
Date: 05/08/2007
Summary: Jackies still got it

He still proves in his HK films anyway that he is amazing the stunts in this film are great and yeah i know hhe copies himself from police story 2 its a good allround film . Just makes you wish he would give up on america and not make rush hour 3 which is pointless

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: kiliansabre
Date: 09/10/2006
Summary: The best Hong Kong Jackie Chan film in years

In the past, in regards to Jackie Chan, complaints have ranged from poor acting to bad characters to no plot, yet his latest Hong Kong effort delivers in all three areas. If you are a Chan fan or if you are looking for a decent submission into Hong Kong crime drama cinema, this will appeal to you. The main premise deals with a group of rich kids who rob banks for the thrill and to bring them their favorite canon fodder: cops. When Chan's character vows to find them in 3 hours time the kids make it personal, the results of which leave Chan in a state of drunken despair as his life falls apart. As the movie progresses different layers of the characters are revealed as Chan tries to take revenge. There are only a couple fight scenes, but plenty of action and most importantly - well delivered drama, particularly from Chan. If you want a goofy martial arts movie wait for his next American effort, if you want a Chan film with some substance and heart, get a copy and enjoy.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: cal42
Date: 04/20/2006
Summary: Where's the fun gone?

Jackie Chan’s films continue to baffle the hardcore fan the further we go into the 21st century.

For those of us who remember the times when Jackie spoke disparagingly on wirework and CGI (“I AM the special effect!”), his latest crop of movies are increasingly hard to stomach. Yes, he’s older and cannot do the things he did in his fondly-remembered 80’s classics. But wouldn’t it be better to see what he can STILL do at his age (which is still a fair bit, considering the punishment he’s taken over the years) than to bluff it all out with smoke and mirrors?

This film is competently produced, competently directed, and competently acted – even the performance by one of the Twins (I forget which one, and who really cares?) is competent. However, I was left with the distinct impression that apart from spotting the references to the original Police Story (incidentally, I counted four – but one of them was rather tenuous), this film really isn’t all that much FUN.

And let’s face it, that’s what most Jackie Chan fans want from his films.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: Libretio
Date: 10/20/2005
Summary: Return to form for Chan and co.

NEW POLICE STORY (2004)

Aspect ratio: 2.39:1 (Super 35)
Sound format: Dolby Digital

A disgraced cop (Jackie Chan) is encouraged by a younger colleague (Nicholas Tse) to pursue the Internet-obsessed thugs who murdered an entire police squad.

Dark-hearted addition to the "Police Story" series (a 'sequel' in name only) which signals its defiance of old traditions from the very first scene, in which Chan stumbles into an alleyway and pukes copiously before collapsing in a drunken stupor. Director Benny Chan (A MOMENT OF ROMANCE) energizes Alan Yuen's fast-paced script in no uncertain terms, and is reunited with several cast members from his recent blockbuster GEN-X COPS (1999), including Daniel Wu (ENTER THE PHOENIX) as the thuggish gang leader rebelling against a lifetime of abuse at the hands of his policeman stepfather, and teen idol Tse (genuinely charming as the young cop who - literally - picks Chan out of the gutter and restores his self-respect). Charlie Yeung has the thankless role of Chan's much younger love interest, and gorgeous Andy On (so memorable in the otherwise routine BLACK MASK II) kicks butt as a member of Wu's criminal fraternity who defeats Chan in open combat.

The film's tone is much rougher than anything Chan has done recently, established by a harrowing sequence in which he's forced to play a series of 'games' with Wu and his cohorts in order to save the lives of his devastated squad members, and his subsequent remorse is played with great sensitivity by Chan, who becomes overwhelmed by guilt and depression (hence his drunken despair in the opening scene). Action set-pieces are fast and stylized, and there's a memorable climactic showdown on top of the Hong Kong Convention Center, spoiled only by blatant - and intrusive - product placement. Otherwise, this is top-notch entertainment all the way, conceived and executed with genuine cinematic flair.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: driftheory
Date: 07/13/2005

When Rush Hour came out, I considered it as a smart move for Jackie Chan and the follow-up, Shanghai Noon, was equally exciting for me. Then I realized the Hollywood formula was only treating Jackie Chan as a funny stuntman, or worse, a circus clown. Every time he was forced to act as a man half of his age and to partner with an half-of-his-age American sidekick, who usually took half of the show. Sequels to Rush Hour signed the fatal flaw of such formula, but because it was so profitable, the alarm was ignored, which contributed to the total failure of some of his most recent Hollywood projects. However, just when you thinks Jackie Chan's career is going through a downward spiral, he returned to Hong Kong, reclaimed his roots, and made New Police Story

It is not a sequel to Jackie Chan's Police Story series but still shares the same format with it. The story starts with an alcoholic Jackie Chan dead-drunk in a dirt alley. Then comes a quick flashback to approximately a year ago, when Jackie Chan was still a proud Senior Inspector, who had never lost a case before. A group of youngsters, enjoyed too much video games and extreme sports (financed by their rich parents), decided to take the virtual thrill to the real world. They robbed a bank, called the police and literally massacred the cops rushing to the scene. Then Chan took his team, armed with pistols and a few shot guns, rushed into those youngsters' hiding place, an unoccupied warehouse. Shortly after they walked in, things started going wrong. One by one, his men were killed and he was unable to save them. He was kept alive only because the youngsters were not done with him yet. When the thing was over, Chan was the only survivor of the operation. He took a long drunken-vacation and started living with shame. Then the movie spent quite a lot of time to show us how Chan, with help from his new partner (Nicolas Tse), puts himself together and gets back to his girlfriend (Charlie Yeung), whose younger brother was also among the men Chan lost a year ago. Eventually, he returns to his post and goes after those youngsters again.

As a departure away from his decade old Hollywood fairytale, Jackie Chan is so brave to show himself as an aging and burnt-out man. He cries a lot, drinks a lot and depresses a lot. The movie is also much darker than an average Jackie Chan movie. It cannot be classified as a comedy action but rather a drama inserted with actions handful of funny moments. Though a little bit cliché, the story is very well written for backup the Jackie Chan actions.

Nicholas Tse plays well as Chan's new partner, who actually offered much comedic relief of the movie; Charlie Yeung is okay for Chan's girlfriend, a routine role of cause; Daniel Wu is good as portraying the leader of the youngsters; Yu Rongguang is severely underused here for playing another senior cop; and Charlene Choi is just plain annoying as Tse's love interest.

The movie is heavy on violence and a bit slow on actions, which will make it unsuitable for Jackie Chan's under-aged fans. However, Jackie Chan delivered his trademark actions. He fights, jumps and puts himself in danger as usual. He even did a nice homage to his old Police Story by taking on a double-deck bus again. These are more than impressive, not just for a man at his 50, but for men of all ages. His team provides us some of the most dangerous aero-stunt ever created on screen and you have to see it to believe it. It is first time I actually like a Jackie Chan movie for the acting, not action, of Jackie Chan, and New Police Story reminds me what the real Jackie Chan is all about


Reviewed by: JohnR
Date: 05/16/2005
Summary: Welcome back, Jackie!

I'm not even going to try to review New Police Story because the reviews below are very solid; I didn't see anything I disagreed with in them (other than I would give it a higher score than 6.5; I'd put it as high as 8).

I only wanted to voice one complaint not otherwise mentioned: Jackie, stop pairing your character romantically with a woman young enough to be your daughter. It doesn't work and it's embarrasing.


Reviewed by: bkasten
Date: 01/13/2005
Summary: A busload of surprises

As a big fan of JC's work over the years, I have to say I was happy to see him make a return to HK. In general, I despise his supposed "better" western movies (Rush Hour and Shanghais where JC seems to be the unsuspecting Asian clown to an absurd sidekick in typical and overtly western racist form.) Whereas movies like Medallion and Tuxedo were just appalling movies by any measure or context. As such, I have yet to subject myself to Around the World. Nonetheless, I hope JC has proven to himself and the world that he can truly make it in the Hollywood scene and can now move on, or move back to, bigger and better things...and while far from perfect, this movie seems to be a hopeful step in the right direction.

The last real movie of JC's was Accidental Spy where I pointed out in a review that we get to see rare glimpses of JC's dramatic acting ability. After that movie, while some doubt remained, I think it was clear that there was some potential for JC to really act in a dramatic character role. But New Police Story even more so stands out from all of his work in that regard. I am quite familiar with the entirety of his work, and with only a few small and exceptional moments, this is his best dramatic acting performance. He is, for me, in this role 100% convincing as someone who has suffered a tragedy. And just like a few moments in Accidental Spy I think we are seeing a side of JC we have not seen before. Time and wear has taken its toll on him, and it really shows on his face. This is a man who has worked hard all his life, suffered great pain and injury. One would think showing pain on screen for him must come fairly easily.

Another aspect of the movie that honestly surprised me was the action scene. The two fight scenes between JC and (the highly doubled) Andy On were stunning absolute perfection in true JC style fighting. Maybe not quite the DM2 fights JC had with Ken Lo and Felix Wong, but I feel among his best choreographed ever. Remember, this guy is 50! You'd never know it watching this. Wow!

The story itself seems pretty simple. JC is a well-respected heroic cop after a gang of ruthless and completely amoral criminals (bank robbers) and in the process of attempting to apprehend them, suffers a horrific tragedy, from which it apparently takes him a year of self-destructive behavior to recover. Does this sound typical for a JC film? No. Well, a little. To a certain extend this is a throwback to the common vengeance stories so common in older HK action cinema. But it's also a bit Hollywood as well where we are made to really deeply dislike the bad guys through the depiction of extreme violence and depravity (although certainly Chang Cheh employed this technique as well). Atypical JC fare, certainly. Nonetheless, one expects a vengeance bloodbath to ensue. What ultimately happens is somewhat of a surprise...

With the exception of Island of Fire, which JC unwillingly did for Wang Yu, this is JC's most violent movie. That's, again, surprising. In the context of a JC movie, one could deem violence acceptable when used in a proper form and whose consequences are felt and understood. Anything less is gratuitous. Generally JC's movies lack gratuitous violence. This movie walks a very fine line. And when the movie taken as a whole, I find the violence does indeed cross the line into unnecessary gratuity. Yet another surprise for a JC movie.

The movie's screenplay (unsurprisingly) is too uneven. It wants to do many things and doesn't quite succeed as a whole: here are these really bad guys, that resort to extreme violence and mass murder simply because they enjoy it, and see it as an extreme sport, and/or a video game. Amoral, depraved, and inhuman. Fortunately, we are made to see the consequences of their actions. But then we are shown that there is a reason for their behavior, and that these people are actually human. Nonetheless, the JC character when ultimately confronted with the bad guys is unconvincingly restrained. Too much initial violence, and too much subsequent restraint and lack of reaction. Much of the suspension of disbelief, which truly did exist, quickly departed at this point.

The movie pays homage to the original Police Story bus scene, but almost becomes a parody as the scene is triggered by one bullet fired by a bad guy in "Butterfly Effect" fashion causes horrible destruction of property that goes on for way too long. It was completely out of place...

The movie takes yet another sudden twist into silliness as Charlene Choi takes on a Miriam Yeung tone, and all of a sudden what has been a sober tragedy vengeance story becomes slapstick for a while. More homage to previous work, but completely out of place again.

The performances and casting were mostly great. For one, I think they got the two best young actors in HK right now: Daniel Wu and Nicky Tse. Wu's performance was singularly excellent. In fact, maybe too good. He may be too big for this sort of role.

Tse was mostly good but he frequently seemed out of place here, and at times appeared to literally be playing his role tongue in cheek. The scene with him JC and Yeung and the birthday cake seemed particularly awkward for him (he was likely laughing to himself over how bad the scene truly was). Oh, and Charlie Yeung's performance? Awful. And I am not sure why since she is a seasoned TV actor after all. But there is absolutely no chemistry whatsoever between her and JC. Their time onscreen together is not believable...and frankly I don't think JC is capable of playing a believable romantic role.

After all is said and done, I think there is so much JC wanted to do after having been exiled to Hollywood for so long that he put more into one movie that he should have. It tries to do too much. But what it attempts, it mostly does well, and there are many new surprises. But like many of JC's 90's and later movies, it just does not come together well as a whole because it's not sure what it wants to do. JC needs to get his creative bearings back, and focus on what it is he does well. This is a pretty decent start.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: senordingdong
Date: 12/26/2004
Summary: Great Production values, full of plot holes

I was expecting this to be yet another cheasy film that does nothing but hype up a bunch of teen idols. I'm glad that Jackie stays as the central instead of Nicholas Tse, who's just along for the ride. Charlene Choi's character does nothing for the plot, and she's just as pouty and annoying as she is in all her other roles. While the film is beautifully shot, one cannot ignore the large amounts of plot holes in this film and the number of times you have to suspend disbelief, something that you usually have to do with a Hong Kong film. The chief let's Jackie back on the foce because Nicholas Tse makes a bet with him? What kind of idiotic writing is that? While we're on the topic of writing, there are bits of english thrown in unnessarily, and bad english at that. Best/Worst line: "Yo, dats ma man!" - Nicholas Tse

The high point of this film is its production values. If I didn't know better, I'd easily say that this was a Hollywood film. This is probably due to the fact that Jackie is funding the film himself. Watching the behind the scenes clips, it is clear that Jackie is the one in charge, and director Benny Chan seems more like a second unit director.

Overall, this film was very entertaining and full of action. Fans of Jackie will surely enjoy it.

6.5/10

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 12/14/2004

For Hong Kong movie fans, New Police Story was one of the most anticipated movies of 2004. It marked Jackie Chan's first return to a "real" HK production since 2001's The Accidental Spy. Not only that, this was the re-birth of one of Jackie's most popular and respected series; it could be argued that while Chan found his first taste of success with kung fu films like Fearless Hyena and Drunken Master, it was not until he fused Hollywood's big-budget aesthetics with Hong Kong's go-for-broke attitude with 1985's Police Story that he became a bonafide international star. While the results here are not as mind-blowing as many fanboys had hoped for, New Police Story is still a very solid movie that fans of Jackie Chan's work from the 1980's and early 1990's should enjoy, especially in the light of recent anemic efforts like The Medallion.

The film is a sequel to the previous Police Story pictures in name only. Perhaps to drive this point home, the movie opens with a shot of Jackie puking his guts out in an alley after a night of hard drinking. He's trying to forget a mission he botched a few months ago, where his entire squad was massacred by a group of video game-loving bandits led by Daniel Wu. His new partner (teenybopper favorite Nicholas Tse) finds out the gang is planning another heist, and attempts to pull Jackie out from the bottom of the bottle to crack the case. Of course, his old precinct (headed by Yu Rong Guang) doesn't want to help out, but he finds an ally with a spunky hacker (Charlene Choi) and manages to track the gang down. Can Jackie overcome his demons and finally get revenge for his fallen comrades? I won't spoil anything for you, but it does end in a big sequence at the Hong Kong Convention Centre, which is fast becoming the "cool" place to have a finale in Hong Kong action movies.

At any rate, unlike most of Chan's other work, New Police Story is driven by the narrative, not the action sequences. Thankfully, Chan shows that he is up to the task. Those who have been long-time fans of his work know he can actually act, as seen in films like Crime Story. But those used to seeing Jackie Chan basically playing a caricature of himself, as he has been in his recent work in the US, will probably be pretty surprised to actually see him bringing up tears in a few scenes. Most of the cast also does well. Nicholas Tse provides some nice comic relief, and Daniel Wu makes a suitable (if a bit whiny) villain. Even Charlene Choi manages to keep herself from screeching.

But what's a Jackie Chan movie without some action? Even though I would have liked more of it, what's in New Police Story is solid for the most part. There's some obvious nods to the previous movies, most notably a slide down an electrified pole and a sequence involving a double-decker bus like in the first installment of Police Story. On the other hand, there is a nice bit of inventiveness and outright violence during some of the action bits that help New Police Story stand out from most of Jackie Chan's other films. The brawls are also nicely done. Of particular note are the two fights Jackie engages in with relative newcomer Andy On (star of the horrible Black Mask 2). Granted, Jackie is really nowhere near his prime, but Andy held his own and managed to impress this jaded action movie viewer.

The main issue that I have with New Police Story is the same that I have with a lot of the recent output coming from Hong Kong -- the movie looks nice and is pretty entertaining, but there's really no heart to it. From the casting of numerous young popstars (besides Tse and Choi, we also have Kenny Kwan and Stephen Cheung of the unfortunately named group Boyz) to the obvious product placement (one sequence takes place in a Lego festival, which is kind of strange considering that this is a IIB movie), New Police Story comes off at times more of an excercise in marketing than film-making. There are attempts to bring in weight into the movie with veteran stars like Yu Rong Guang, but their roles are little more than glorified cameos, especially Charlie Yeung, who replaces Maggie Cheung in the "pretty woman who gets into trouble and Jackie has to rescue" role.

To New Police Story's credit, at least there's no sappy slow-motion sequences featuring the latest Twins single. But one would think if there's anyone who could bring back the spirit of the balls-out film-making Hong Kong seemed to embrace back during its' "golden age", it would be Jackie Chan. However, times change, and -- let's face it -- at fifty years old, Jackie Chan's not really going to be physically able to make anything close to the level of his classics like Drunken Master II. Depsite its' flaws, New Police Story is a satifying movie that should fill the needs of fans looking for a new Jackie Chan fix, unlike the small morsels which have come over in the majority of his recent work. Honestly, I would be happy with Jackie cranking out movies like this for the remainder of his career, instead of subjecting himself (or his true fans) to the drudgery of pictures like the The Tuxedo.

[review from www.hkfilm.net]


Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 12/12/2004
Summary: Nice try.

Uneven effort leaves one wishing for more. Martial arts direction is strong;
this movie has some of Jackie's best moves in a few years. It's all the
"Option" type stuff among the various police officers that falls flat. Not
really anything "New" here.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: PAUL MARTINEZ
Date: 12/12/2004
Summary: Welcome Back

The long awaited return of Jackie Chan to HK films is finally here and I for one couldn't be happier. NPS harkens back to Jackie films of the 90's. Lots of action, wild stunts, and a touch of humour.

The story is actually pretty formulatic but that's the case for most all action films. However, a hard-edged vengeance story is not something we see from Mr. Chan all that often. It was nice to see the various sub-plots handled nicely thoughout the film as well. Too often sub-plots are given too little time or are so contrived that it takes focus away from the main plot. That wasn't the case here.

One thing that was different was seeing Jackie's dramatic acting ability showcased. Next to Crime Story, this has to be my favorite Jackie Chan acting performance. Gritty and powerful without having to shout his lines or behave overly emotional. A very nice cast helps this film also. I loved seeing Yu Rong Guang as well as one of my new favorite young actresses, Charlene Choi. But I really enjoyed Daniel Wu's work here. Although his backstory was a little far-fetched I still believed him. I look forward to seeing more of him in the future.

We can't talk about a Jackie Chan movie and not speak of the action sequences. At 50 years young JC continues to dazzle me with his stunts. While not at the same level as 10 years ago, it's still pretty amazing stuff. Well-choreographed fight scenes which of course is a staple of any of his movies. The bus scene seemed contrived as an earlier review pointed out, but I wouldn't complain over it.

If this any indication of the work we'll be seeing from Mr.Chan in the future. Then I'm looking forward to it. Welcome Back Jackie. You have been missed.

Reviewer Score: 8