金臂童
The Kid with the Golden Arm (1979)


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 09/25/2009

Perhaps the most enjoying of the venoms films after FDV, with a plot that's actually worth paying attention to and some quite inventive action scenes. Kuo Chui shines brightest, as usual.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 08/04/2007
Summary: Venoms, fight fight fight!!

Nothing special here, just a whole lot of fighting over gold,
Villians with specialities such as silver spear and brass head
but the title is actually aimed at the main villian, who is golden arm.
But the gimmick only helps the movie so much.
Unfortuantely some people give away the twist at the end,its obvious when u count who's on who's side.

Phillip kwok is the main actor here, but he doesnt have to do much but drink, think smart and fight. There is minimal character development, the main players with there specialities fight and thats about it

Another average Shaw brothers movie

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: kurama_tengu
Date: 06/03/2002
Summary: My favorite Venom movie!

This is my favorite of the Venom Mob movies, probably because it was the first one I saw. If you can believe it...I wasn't able to see "The Five Venoms" until a few years ago when it was released by Steeplechase.

"The Kid With The Golden Arm" utilizes the same structures found in all of Chang Cheh's Venom movies - great fight scenes, good vs. evil, etc. I particularly enjoyed Kuo Chui as the drunk Agent Hai To.

One thing I will say in regards to Shaw Brothers kung-fu movies vs. the current HK action cinema is that the bad dubbing makes the Shaw films so enjoyable. The voices are usually done by the same actors and have the same tones and verbalizations, such as "right!" or "but still". I guess I enjoy it because I grew up watching the movies that way. However, with the current HK films I watch, Cantonese with English subtitles is a must! The English dubs I've heard do not add to these movies and detract from the films......go figure.

"The Kid With the Golden Arm" is at the top of the list of my favorite Chang Cheh films. If you have not seen it yet, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of it. [9/10]

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: Buckeyez
Date: 07/03/2001
Summary: Excellent and fun film by the Shaw Bros.

The Shaw Brothers Studio cranked some great martial arts masterpieces. As a young boy, I grew up with the Martial Arts Theater and "Kid with the Golden Arm", "Return of the Five Deadly Venoms", "Five Fingers of Death", and "Deadly Angels" were on my favorite list. My interest in movies stem far and wide. There are lots of elements that help make a movie "good or great or even masterpieces". In order for a movie to stand tall on my top films list, they need to have some strong interesting element that is unique and above the rest. Most bad movies today are cluttered with unnecessary violence and contains lots of gun fire, and all the more seemed to shy-away the action movie fans. This is where the "Kid with the Golden Arm" shines and its strengths are its ability to entertain and even provoke a sense of interest in wanting to learn martial arts also. Every scene is choreograph with precision and the fighting moves are a powerhouse to say the least.


Reviewed by: Trigger
Date: 05/13/2001
Summary: Really stupid...

This film sucked. For my review of this film - see my review of Five Element Ninja - although this film was a bit better.

Rating: Movie - 1.5/10

Reviewer Score: 1

Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 03/16/2001
Summary: Good action

That's perhaps the only good thing about this venom-cast, Chang Cheh-directed Shaw Bros production that's only available in English. To tell you the truth, I swear I've heard of the Chinese title of this movie somewhere before. I'm almost 90% sure this is an adaption off a novel or a series. That doesn't matter, because this is a great stand-alone by itself. The cast is hmm good, the story - well, at times confusing, so don't expect a lot, and the action - magnificently delivered. Recommended to all old school kung fu lovers. [8/10]


Reviewed by: hellboy
Date: 02/27/2001
Summary: The kid with the golden arm and his thugs try to steal some gold

Another great kung fu classic from Chang Cheh. Most of the "venoms" are casted. An unconventional movie for it's time as the hero, Agent Hai To is a drunk and the character of Mr. Li who dresses like and to an extent acts like a hero ends up easily killed by the title character villain. Of course all of the villains have nicknames relating to their gimmicks- Iron Feet, Iron Robe, Silver Spear. If you like old Shaw Brothers' films and haven't seen this chances are you're going to like it. 8/10

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: battlemonkey
Date: 12/21/1999

A drunken hero (Kuo Chui) defends a wagon of gold meant forfamine relief against a legion of bizarre villains.


Reviewed by: hokazak
Date: 12/09/1999

Cheesy dubbing