水玲瓏
The Revenge of Angel (1990)


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 09/17/2005

Moon Lee plays a beautiful actress named Angel who is killed in a brutal fashion after she refuses the advances of a gangster. Twenty years later, a struggling young actor (Lau Chi-Wai) comes upon Angel's ghost, who teaches him some new moves which gain him the starring role in the local production, as well as the affection of one of the other stars of the show (Alvina Kong). In return, he and his uncle (Wu Ma) set out to help Angel gain her revenge on the gangster that took her life.

The Revenge of Angel offers up a pretty good story, some strong performances from the leads, and quite a bit of action, but somehow it didn't really click for me. I can't put my finger on anything specific, but there were a few times during the running time where I was bored by the proceedings. Even though everything here is done well, it still has a "been there, done that" kind of feeling to it.

Frankly, these kinds of movies area dime a dozen in Hong Kong, and The Revenge of Angel offers little that is new or unique. It was nice seeing Moon playing more of a serious role versus her usual "kickass cutey-pie" stuff, and she looks great during the action sequences, but even that can't totally save the film. This is not by any means a bad movie, and Moon Lee fans should have good deal of fun, but it's just not up to the level of some of Moon's top works like Angel.

[review from www.hkfilm.net]


Reviewed by: Michael Kistner
Date: 03/23/2004
Summary: Very good fight scenes.

Very good fight scenes and good actors.
3.5/5


Reviewed by: ButterflyMurders
Date: 06/09/2002
Summary: The Revenge Of Opera Orientated Flicks

Oooo, another film revolving around the opera.

The Raising Of The Curtains:

Moon Lee is the main actress for an opera troupe. However, she gets in the bad books of triad leader Chung Faat who disrupts the proceedings midway through a show. During the fight a fire breaks out, engulfing the entire theatre. Moon Lee saves her friend Wu Ma from being burnt to a crisp but unintentionally sacrifices herself.

Fast-forward twenty or so years, and the opera troupe arrives in town. Wu Ma is now a percussionist, while his cousin Lau Chi Wai is a new opera recruit. While off wandering by the river one night he spots Moon Lee. They become friends and after hearing her sorry tale vows to avenge her.

The Plum Blossom Dance:

Let us discuss the positives first. I liked how life backstage is shown-the superstition, rituals and the strong belief in the supernatural, which was why Lau Chi Wai wasn't too afraid when he saw Moon Lee as a ghost. Spirits exist, and it's no biggie. Also, the acting on the whole is solid-besdes, Chung Faat and Wu Ma can always be depended on to give decent performances. There were quite a few action sequences here, and they were done quite well. I especially liked Moon Lee's battle with the demonic spirits on the ship.

The ship is positive no. 2. Now that was a nice creative touch-have Moon Lee's spirit on a model ship, complete with paper servants, sailing to eternity, but have the servants attack her. I really enjoyed that, it was probably the most interesting part of the film for me.

Now, to the negatives. Negative no 1. THE SOUNDTRACK. My GOD (or Buddha), were they THAT budgetted they could ONLY USE ONE TRACK for dramatic and emotional moments?! Did it have to SOUND SO DAMN CHEESY?! The first time I heard it, I could tolerate it. After five times, I could not. I simply could not.

Negative no 2. The film is basically this. Take a large slice of 'A Chinese Ghost Story' and add Chinese opera. Stir well and add some 'Close Encounters Of The Spooky Kind' for topping. Serve with some martial arts action on the side. It's an interesting mix, but not done terribly well. The taoist sequences towards the end are reasonable, but they lifted too blatantly from ACGS. If you're going to copy a formula, at least don't make it too obvious. Here they did.

Negative no 3. Not only did they not do the mixture well, this film on the whole wasn't interesting. The pacing was a little too slow. Also, films usually crank up in anticipation for the end. This film does the opposite-it runs out of steam.

The Curtain Falls:

6/10


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 06/03/2002
Summary: Bad

A strange story about members of a Chinese opera troupe during the 40’s (?), though there are parts of the film that don’t look right for that time. Moon Lee dies when something goes wrong, and comes back years later as a ghost seeking revenge for her death. It’s an interesting looking film, but the whole concept is too much to take in, if this was a comedy it would be different.

I won’t go further, because I don’t recommend this one anyway, but maybe hardcore Moon Lee fans (if there are any left!) might enjoy it, as it’s better than a lot of her messy 80’s films.

[1.5/5]


Reviewed by: ElectraWoman
Date: 10/29/2000
Summary: 6.5/10-Tries hard, but not quite there

This gives a nice insight into the backstage happenings of a theatre troupe. There's some good fights and some great pole movements by Moon Li, but the plot is a little cliche to my liking, and the ending is too overwrought. Still, pretty good film to toss in near the end of a movie marathon.


Reviewed by: leh
Date: 12/09/1999

Moon Lee plays an actress who gets reincarnated. Unusualmovie worth a look. Has got nothing to do with the "Angel" movies starring Lee.


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Former mobster Jacky Chen (Lan Jia-Hui) has a list of crime syndicate members, so he asks the Blue Angels (led by Moon Li) for protection. It isn't long before his enemies realize he doesn't have a list after all, and that's when the punching, kicking, and heavy artillery take over. Solid, low-budget matinee fare, with lots of blood, decent fights, and a great Moon Li dance scene.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6