超級學校霸王
Future Cops (1993)


Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 11/29/2005
Summary: wild and wacky

A wild and wacky Wong Jing comedy, with "Street Fighter 2" characters, about an underworld boss from the future tried and convicted by the toughest judge around. He sends his henchmen back to the past to kill the the man before he becomes a judge. The Future Cops learn of the plot and are sent back to find and protect the judge. A frenetic and kinetic film that everyone can enjoy.

Enthusiastic action choreography fills the screen as designed by the super-trio of action directors that is Tony Ching Siu-Tung, Ma Yuk-Sing, and Dion Lam Dik-On. These three worked together on four films in 1993 including the wuxia films The East is Red, Holy Weapon, and Flying Dagger.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 11/25/2005

As someone who is both a video game fan and one of the biggest defenders of Wong Jing's output, it pains me to say this. For lack of more colorful language, Future Cops sucks. It's certainly not the worst production to come out of Hong Kong, especially during this period, when HK film-makers were cranking out more product than they knew what to do with, which resulted in an awful lot of stinkers. But given the cast and crew that worked on this movie, the end result is pretty disappointing to say the least.

Future Cops' plot is wafer-thin, even by Wong Jing's "flying paper" standards. Basically, during the early 1990's, the game Street Fighter II was a worldwide phenomenon. Wong Jing is the type of guy who is always quick to hitch his horse to the fastest cart, and so he set about to make a SF2 movie. The problem is that he didn't actually pay for the rights to use the characters from the game, so we get some of Hong Kong's biggest stars playing knock-offs. And instead of a world martial arts tournament like in the game, Future Cops has a group of (you guessed it) "future cops" going back in time to save a loser (played by Dicky Cheung) who will eventually become a judge who convicts the future's top criminal (Ken Lo doing his best impersonation of M. Bison).

And that's about it. Certainly, Wong Jing's movies aren't known for their high drama or deep plots (though he has proven capable of that with such films as Colour of the Truth) but he usually keeps things moving along quickly enough so that the viewer doesn't have the time to dwell on the production's shortcomings. Future Cops' biggest problem is that a ton of time is wasted in dumb comedic segments. A good number of the jokes are actually initally funny, but Wong strings them on far too long, and the resulting punchlines aren't worth the effort. Also, Wong doesn't use the characters to their potential. This was probably because he was trying to avoid a lawsuit, but Street Fighter fans hoping to see some of the classic battles from the game re-enacted will be disappointed, as the match-ups and special moves are given only a relatively small amount of screen time, as Wong quickly goes on to the next poop or vibrator joke.

There are a couple of good parts in Future Cops, mostly revolving around Chingmy Yau, who is always easy on the eyes and looks quite nice in her Chun Li outfit. Some of the fights, as helmed by seasoned vet Ching Siu-Tung, are actually quite good. But, ultimately, Future Cops represents why many HK film fans hate Wong Jing's output. It was obviously rushed through to make a quick buck, depending more on star power and eye candy, rather than actual film-making, to entertain the viewer.

[review from www.hkfilm.net]

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 12/22/2003
Summary: Better than USA Street Fighter Movie

If nothing else, this was definately better than the American Street Fighter movie, even if just as cheesey. Typical Wong Jing slapstick humor, which makes for some pretty funny jokes at times. Also the Street Fighter references were hilarious for anyone who is a fan of the game. One reviewer was upset with the portrayal of the SF characters, but again the title of this movie is NOT Street Fighter II, it's "Future Cops!" As a huge SF2 fan I was perfectly happy to see Wong Jing's usage of the characters. Wong Jing had worked with Street Fighter in his previous film before this, "City Hunter" (with Jackie Chan starring), and it was a more accurate Street Fighter representation but still retained his characteristic humor style. Now to see him make a full length movie with that same SF2 humor was great. Definately see this if you're a Street Fighter fan or a Wong Jing fan or even if you're just a idol fan of the actors in the movie. Seeing all these greats of the screen 10 years earlier gives you a glimpse of how their acting has improved. Also watching this movie 10 years later gives me a great appreciation for the leaps and bounds that the Hong Kong film industry has made in their production values and movie making techniques. Even Wong Jing's most current movie as of this writing, "Spy Dad," I could notice a dramatic improvement in direction and overall production from a similar film from the same director/writer. 8/10

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 03/28/2003
Summary: Probably was good back then...........

I do agree with what Stardust says.
This movie probably would of been more funny if i saw it during the "Street fighter 2" craze, but not to say it's not funny!! But not to say it was THAT funny either

A very star studded cast who each take a "Street fighter 2" persona. The basic premise is the good guys have to go back in time to protect a judge who will convict "Bison" in the future and protect him from his henchman.

I did find this movie WAY over the top. Of course you can't take this movie seriously (even if you wanted too) Some jokes work and some dont. The action is probably what you expected with a lot of comedy put into it.

There are a few suprises in this but i feel it took a little time to get itself going. Some jokes are just plain stupid which made me cringe. Your definately not watching it for the over the top action.

Even though i have said many good things about this movie, it feels old. I wasn't drawn into the movie as much as i should of. The STREET FIGHTER 2 craze is gone which doesn't help. But it guess it is good for a laugh.

6/10


Reviewed by: Stardust
Date: 07/07/2002
Summary: A Great Movie...Back Then

I saw this movie in the theatre when it first came out, so I don't remember the specific details right now while writing this review. All I remember was that I was waiting forever to watch this because of the cast (my star-crazy days on the Four Heavenly Sky Kings and many others).

If I'm correct, the storyline has nothing to do with the game, but it's an excuse to get every character together. The huge cast is insane; either they're famous or up and coming stars, so I'm wondering how much it costed to make this movie back then. I don't know how much the movie made, but I'm sure a lot of people were looking forward to watching it just like me.

I also remembered laughing throughout the whole movie, and even renting it when it came out on video (I never heard of DVD's back then, but if I did, I would've bought a copy for sure). It was definitely my favorite for a while.

Today, I don't know if this movie would have the same effect on me. Firstly, I'm older now, and way over my movie-star-crazy days. And secondly, I haven't played the game since who knows how long. In fact, I totally forgot about the movie's existence until someone mentioned it recently, and I had to go back to this review page to remember the story and characters. I still think it's a great movie though, based on the experience I had watching it back then.

Overall, I guess this was a great movie...back then. It came out at the right time (summer) and most of the actors were the "it" artists (remember Charlie Young, and don't forget the 3 out of 4 Sky Kings). Today, some of these actors have retired, gotten older, moved on, etc. Honestly, I don't know if I want to watch this again right now because I want to keep those good memories with me (this was practically my dream-come-true movie).

If you're a early 90's generation (pre)teenager, you'll probably know what I'm talking about, may have been looking forward to watching it too, and saw it. If not, give it a try, just to see what we were into back in those days.

Rating: 9/10

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: Souxie
Date: 06/22/2002
Summary: hilarious fun!!!


Even though I don't normally go for slapstick humour, seeing 3 heavenly kings and Dicky Cheung, not to mention a really young Andy Hui, making the best of a bad script had me in stitches. The film was so funny that at times I had to pause the goddamn VCD to laugh and not miss anything. I agree with the previous reviewer; if you're not in the mood for slightly silly slapstick then keep it for that night when you are - you won't regret it. I'm not a fan of Streetfighter, but I thought the characters were fun and great to watch - especially the big show down. And Kwok Fu-Sing looked cute as always. :)

Great feel-good movie, 8/10

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Dyogenez
Date: 05/07/2002
Summary: Comedy Gold

In the future, year 2043, Bison is convicted and comes up with a plan to free himself. He sends his henchmen, Ken, Honda and Sagat, back in time to 1993 to find and destroy the judge who setenced him when he was still vulnerable. It turns out that at this time he was still in high school. Cops from the future are also sent back in time to find him first and protect him. Throughout most of the story they are looking for him in the past, and trying to blend in with society of the time.

This has to be one of the funiest movies i've seen in a very long time. If you are not in the mood for silly comedy, wait until you are to watch this. Street Fighter fans ecspecially will have fun watching how silly the characters in this movie are. It's very similar to anime in it's humor stylings, making for a completely unrealistic, but comedic world. I would compltely reccomend this as a party movie among friends when you want a lot of laughs. 8/10.

(forgive me for using street fighter names, I know them much better than the comical names used in this film)


Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 09/12/2001
Summary: Wong Jing's trademark

This would have been an ideal film for my friends (and I, perhaps...) back in the days: slapstick, contemporary & trashy comedy, HK teen idols/megastars, and Wong Jing. Even though I prefer the enhanced new wave martial arts experiences, it was great watching this wild piece. It's got Aaron Kwok playing the smallest role I've ever seen him in (except in Holy Flame of the Martial World, but I could not identify him in that movie) and Ekin Cheng as a BAD GUY (or is he?). The comedy isn't the funniest, but nevertheless you are treated with the normal dose of silliness and slapstick. But the silliest of all was Simon Yim playing Dhalsm. I've never seen anyone ridiculed & changed so much to fit a role. But it's all good! An all-star film, too.

[9/10]

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: lang_mui85
Date: 08/25/2001
Summary: jokez... must see

damn... tis movie is so jokez... it's wit street fighter characteurs... and it has like an all-star cast... andy lau, jacky cheung, simon, dicky cheung, ekin cheng, aaron kwok... when they were all like starting out...
let's see... tis movie's about the general (bison), wanting to kill this judge...


Reviewed by: Yellow Hammer
Date: 04/03/2001

A correction on the HKMDB cast info, Winnie Lau is Siu Wai, she plays the girlfriend of first Kei-On (Andy Hui), then the girlfriend of Broom Man (Jacky Cheung). Yuen King-Tan is the mother of Chan Tai Hung/Yu Ti Hung.


Reviewed by: tygrdx
Date: 03/15/2000
Summary: Hillariously Horrible

This movie Really bites. All the Street Fighter Characters are Asian. Just look at the guys who portray Guile and Dhalsim. If you ever were a fan of the Street Fighter Video Games, you'd be puking on your keyboards. A MUST SEE!


Reviewed by: hktopten
Date: 12/21/1999

A super criminal escapes to the past in an attempt to kill thejudge who gave him the death sentence before he gets a chance to become a judge. What better time than when he's in high school? The Future cops are also sent back in time to protect the judge in his youth and recapture the criminal and his gang. Future cops and the criminals are characters out of the arcade game "Street Fighter II".


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

A comedy with the "Street Fighter" characters about a underworld lord from the future named General about to face trial with the toughest judge around. So he sent his henchmen back to the past to kill the judge before he becomes the judge. The Future Cops learned of General's plot and were sent back as well to find and protect the judge before the General's men gets to him. Fairly enjoyable film.

[Reviewed by Anonymous]