Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
流氓醫生 (1995)
Mack the Knife


Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 04/07/2011


Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 02/15/2011

In Mack the Knife (aka Dr. Mack), Tony Leung Chiu-Wai stars as a free-wheeling doctor working in the red-light district of Hong Kong. It's an affable performance that's enjoyable to watch, but the light and meandering nature of the story ultimately gives the character little room to move and grow, resulting in a movie that plays on a singular note for too long.

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 02/16/2007
Summary: a compelling, warm-hearted film

Here is a good chance to see Tony Leung Chiu-Wai work his magic in a fine performance before he became the darling of the Cannes Film Festival. Mr. Leung plays a talented, eccentric doctor who practices his skills in a clinic for the poor while co-star Lau Ching-Wan mumbles through his role as an undercover cop who falls for a hooker. Writer, producer, and director Lee Chi-Ngai crafts a compelling, warm-hearted film filled with eccentric characters. This movie marks first screen appearance of then 20 year old Gigi Leung Wing-Kei.





Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: JohnR
Date: 11/10/2006
Summary: Fun but Unfulfilling

I came across this in a bargain bin; didn't know anything about it, but got it because of the cast. I guess the fact that I'm not sure I got my money's worth from a bargain bin movie expresses my opinion of it.

Tony Leung does a fine job; Lau Ching Wan is also very good. Gigi Leung wasn't given anything to do. Christy Chung? Sorry, not this time. None of the characters was very realistic (with the exception of the young doctor who works with Tony). I read below that this is an adaption from a manga, which makes sense because you'll never meet any of these characters in real life.

I'm not sure how to classify it; HKMDB lists it as drama, which makes sense, but there was a lot of comedy in it, and romance. The whole thing had a vaguely M.A.S.H.-like feel, though Tony is actually is cool, whereas Alan Alda acts cool.

I've listed a lot of negatives, but there was a lot of humor and good acting; this isn't a horrid mess. But I thought all-in-all it failed.

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 11/16/2002


Pretty dull.

2/5

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: mehaul
Date: 07/01/2002

Nicely acted story with an unconventional doctor (Mack - Tony Leung) working in the seedy part of town. A visit to the hospital results in him taking a young doctor (So) under his wings and reacquainting with his med school classmate. A rivalry ensues. A nice mix of humor, drama and irreverence.
8/10


Reviewed by: runo_jp
Date: 06/12/2001
Summary: Mack the knife

Adaptation of a Japanese manga, this movie is well done, thanks to its cast who obviously enjoyed playing their parts. At the lead, Tony Leung shows his comic talent at its best, and special mention to Lau Ching-Wan, playing the “Dirty Harry” of the district who falls for a nice prostitute (look carefully, he is always in the background!)
A few flaws : some characters are sacrified in the story (Gigi Leung for example!), and I would have expected more jokes at Tony Leung’s consultation office (still, the first scene at the hospital is filled with humor : look at the patients in the waiting room!)
Anyway, a good film.
7/10 (maybe 2 visions needed, to catch all the jokes in the background!)


Reviewed by: ElectraWoman
Date: 10/12/2000
Summary: 7.5/10-Pretty good, but racist jokes weren't really necesary

A sentimental, but not overly, film about a talented Doctor, played by Tony Leung, who opens and his rival, who wants him scrubbed out of his profession. Leung, as always, is extra-charming in his role. There are some funny moments in this film, and generally tightly-written, although some of the jokes I found were in poor taste. Jokes against a racial group? Come on! Apart from that a pretty good and watchable film.


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

Dr. Mack (TONY LEUNG) practices medicine in a rundown section ofHong Kong by choice. A dilemma of vice and virtue, this free-wheeling womanizer becomes a warm-hearted angel to the homeless and fallen outcasts.

[Reviewed by Tai Seng Catalog]


Reviewed by: kjohnson
Date: 12/09/1999

A great movie! Easily one of the best of the year. It's a comedy about a seedy but brilliant doctor (Tony Leung) who practices in the sleazy section of town.


Reviewed by: Crap
Date: 12/09/1999

This is a comedy and a lovestory about a doctor who falls in love with his friend's (another doctor) girl, another doctor who loves a patient, and a hong kong police man who loves a whore. This much love makes lot of trouble... but in the end it all ends good ..ALMOST.. The movie isnt much fun, but if are in a romantic mood, its a great movie!!


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

A decent adaptation of the manga (Japanese "comics") 'Dr. Kumahige' by Sho Fumimura and Takumi Nagayasu. Tony Leung plays the bearded doctor (after Chow Yun-Fat turned down the role). The movie takes several subplots from the manga (changing details as required) and add some new materials. In some ways the film is an improvement on the manga (but not always).

(6.5/10)



[Reviewed by Christopher Fu]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

If you like sentimental romantic comedy (I do) this should be fine for you to see. I enjoyed it. Tony Leung is terrific as usual (I was reminded of his role in Chung King Express in this movie). Beautifully cinematographed, good direction and acting, sappy story and really terrific music (Monk, Ellington, Sonny Rollins). However, there are some rather unfunny racial jokes directed against Black people. Why this rather offensive display of racism is in the movie I don't know, but I find it disturbing particularly since this is the second HK film I've seen in recent weeks (the other being Don't Give A Damn, with Samo Hung, et al) to include gratuitously infantile, insensitive, and racist (not to mention not funny) jokes about Black people. I cringe when I hear these things, and I can't think of any reason to excuse them.

[Reviewed by Eduardo in NY]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Blurry mish-mosh about a gifted, though unconventional doctor (Tony Leung) whose friend and rival secretly wants to drum him out of the profession. Then there's the rookie doctor in love with a patient who has terminal leukemia; a scruffy cop (Lau Ching Wan) in love with a call-girl; and the woman both doctors share (lovely Christy Chung). Okay, I admit -- this is pretty mediocre. But it has Christy.

(2/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 5