"Boss"

Discussions about Hong Kong Movies

"Boss"

Postby ewaffle » Thu Sep 24, 2009 4:34 am

It seems that owners of restaurants and food stalls are called "Boss" (at least in the subtitles) almost universally in Hong Kong movies. Does this make sense from some linguistic/cultural angle? I don't think it is ever commented on by any of the characters--no "Don't call me boss" for example--and it doesn't seem to be a term that is used when addressing other small business owners. Is there a Cantonese word that doesn't have the same meaning as boss in English but that sounds like it?

A very minor detail, of course, which has nothing to do with anything.
ewaffle

Re: "Boss"

Postby cal42 » Thu Sep 24, 2009 6:47 am

I'm no expert, but I think it's a cultural thing and completely accepted. It's the same as a husband and wife calling each other "husband" and "wife", I think. If that makes sense - it's really early in the morning here!
Heroes of the East - the only blog in the world with the world famous Lam Suet-o-meter!
cal42

Postby Brian Thibodeau » Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:05 am

Are you referring to when a character is called "boh si", by any chance?

If so, that, as far as I know, is indeed a form of Cantonese slang, similar (I've always supposed) to when a westerner might casually call a comfortable acquaintance or superior (heck, even a junior) with whom they have a relaxed relationship "Boss" or "Chief", as in "Mornin', Chief"

In my well-thumbed Lonely Planet Cantonese Phrase Book--a handy little reference guide when watching Hong Kong movies--"boh si" is translated as . . . "Boss" :)

Edit: wow, even that's online! See here (about two-thirds down the page):
http://books.google.com/books?id=jE5Xn_ ... q=&f=false