Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying Big5
~¿ (1990)
Tiger Cage II


Reviewed by: mrblue
Date: 11/14/2010

For years, Tiger Cage II has been a bit of a holy grail for English-speaking fans of Hong Kong action movies since the quality of the home video versions (when they were actually available) has been neglible. At least for now in late 2010, that matter has been corrected with Fortune Star's recently released remastered DVD, which lets a whole new audience check out one of the best Hong Kong action films from the early 1990's.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: dandan
Date: 07/17/2010
Summary: dirty money laundering...

when i first started ordering dvds, direct from hong kong, 'tiger cage' was one of my first purchases; essentially it was a film which contained nearly every single cliche possible, but was made watchable by an unending string of brutal looking fights, choreographed, amongst others, by the film's director yuen wo-ping. still, 'tiger cage 2' was the film in the series that people would talk about as being the gem, the equivalent of 'in the line of duty 4'. unfortunately the dvd was always out of print, until now...

'tiger cage 2' sees dragon (donnie yen), a down on his luck cop whose wife is leaving him, and his wife's divorce lawyer, mandy (rosamund kwan), get caught up in some money laundering and double-crossing. david (david ng), after arriving in hong kong with $5.7million, finds the money missing, fingers being pointed and himself isolated: an unlikely alliance between david, mandy and dragon emerges. but, will they be able to stop bickering long enough to find the money and clear their names, before they get killed?

well, if you're expecting a narrative which isn't goofy as hell, riddled with ridiculous holes and full of stupid flaws, then you may be disappointed. if you're happy to accept that rosamund kwan is lovely, donnie yen is almost at the peak of his pouting and posing, whose dragon isn't afraid to be an ass who pretty much bully-flirts with miss kwan all the way through the film, at times in a more than mildly unsavoury fashion.

still, this is of little concern...

the main reason to watch 'tiger cage 2' is to see yen, ng, robin shou, michael woods, john salvitti and even a glimpse of cynthia khan, as they indulge in a selection of hard hitting action sequences. if one can forgive a couple of moments where metal bars seem to bend when swung and the tin foil covered sticks that are meant to be swords during a face off between donnie and john salvitti, then the fighting is very watchable indeed. it doesn't quite live up to the hype which it gets, but it still of a good standard and a prime example of that new wave, late eighties, early nineties, hong kong action cinema.

good stuff, but not quite a classic...


Reviewed by: Beat TG
Date: 09/11/2009
Summary: Still manages to amuse & entertain

I remember the time when TIGER CAGE 2 was one of many HK actioners from the late 80s and mid 90s that people, most of whom were already adapted to Hong Kong Cinema to most aspects or just got into it through the action/MA genre, were curious to watch them because of the praise and hype other people gave it. And usually, most would like those movies and expand the movies' rep to newer viewers. But since then however, things has changed alot. The action stars started to diminish (due to age, lack of fresh and original ideas for action choreography and, primarily, of new action talents as well), the attention started to lean toward other movies of other genres (crime, thriller, horror, drama, comedy) and people whom were still in love with the action style that defined the Golden Era of action movies could only dream of seeing them return in fine form instead of seeing more of the lackluster productions that attempted to revive them.

But there was still hope; none other than Donnie Yen. After the Golden Era was done and struggling to find suitable projects both locally and overseas and realizing that overseas wasn't the right place to work, Donnie took the choice to return to Hong Kong and redefine himself as well as keeping the then dying action/MA genre alive. And boy, did he mean serious business! Working himself up the ranks starting with HERO (despite with just 15-20 min of screentime), and then with SPL, FLASH POINT and recently IP MAN, Donnie has definitely contributed more than enough to spark new life in action movies, and has even managed to succeed to transform himself into an entirely different actor now. His acting performance and the way he choreographs action/MA scenes have without a doubt changed most people's views they used to have on HK action movies, and this is something that I feel have also changed my attitude toward him and Hong Kong action movies in general. This means the attitude I used to have when I was into the early action movies is no longer the same.

But looking back at TIGER CAGE 2, I think it's still very entertaining and fine to watch unlike most late 80s and mid 90s HK actioners I've rewatched over these past months where I wasn't as impressed as I used to, maintaining the same impact I had the first time watching it. The movie has probably everything that could make a basic yet highly enjoyable and rewatchable movie; humor (both intentional and unintentional), action, drama (nothing great but yet plausible), thrills and so on. As I mentioned earlier, the way Donnie Yen choreographs and presents MA/action scenes in today's Hong Kong action movies has totally changed people attitude on how action movies are shot. And for this reason, I feel the action has outdated a bit and as a result I couldn't help but notice all the clichés and predictable details in all scenes (exchanges of attacks and blocks, stunts, acting as the action scenes runs etc). But this is just a small nitpick which I won't let affect my pleasure of watching the action scenes in TIGER CAGE 2 or other old actioners as I still enjoy the hell out of them!

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 06/07/2003
Summary: Cheesy classic

D&B Films definitely had a "house style" when they were around, specialising in gritty modern day police/crime thrillers with bone crunching action choreography - typified by the infamous "IN THE LINE OF DUTY" series. TIGER CAGE and TIGER CAGE 2 could quite easily have been entries in the IN THE LINE OF DUTY, if a few more female cops had been thrown in. Conversely, Yuen Wo Ping's entry to the series (ITLOD 4) could just have easily been a TIGER CAGE film.

Donnie Yen plays a hot-headed ex-cop whose attitude has got him in trouble with his bosses and his wife. On a trip to the lawyers, he is witness to a robbery where a suitcase of money disappears and a lot of guys get shot. Somehow, he ends up with lawyer Rosamund Kwan on the run from the cops who think they commited a murder and from the bad guys that think they have the money. Reluctantly they're forced to form an alliance with one of the bad guys, David Wu, who has been betrayed by the gang.

It's all pretty cheesy and cliched stuff, but carried out with energy and enthusiasm and plenty of action - a typical D&B film in other words. Donnie Yen gives one of his better performances, and Rosamund Kwan is cute and funny. David Wu has to be one of the least charismatic performers Hong Kong ever imported from the US, but this is definitely one of his better roles - he even delivers some passable action (but is clearly doubled for most of the cool moves).

Yuen Wo Ping's choreography has never been as impressive in his modern day films as in his traditional kung fu or wire-fu works, but he still manages to give his fighters plenty of opportunity to show their skills. Donnie Yen is in great form, giving some amazing kicks. There's quite a bit of gunplay too, which is suitably over the top HK style, but probably of less interest than the martial arts.

Tiger Cage 2 is unlikely to win many fans on the strength of its story or acting, but it's a must-see for fans of that particularly brutal style of choreography that was so successfully done in Hong Kong in the late 80's. It does come better than this, but not by all that much :)

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: balstino
Date: 06/04/2003
Summary: Not as good as In the Line of Duty 4

The action is good but it doesn't seem as up tempo as In the Line of Duty 4. As a side plot there was some nice interaction between Donnie and Rosamund Kwan, and I did laugh at the comedy. However, the sword fight in the cage was rubbish. It's obvious that none of the martial artists or Yuen Woo Ping knows anything about Japanese sword fighting so why not stick to chinese weapons? Give this film a try if you must, but don't expect too much.


Reviewed by: ksbutterbox
Date: 12/02/2002
Summary: Alot of Fun !

This has Rosamund Kwan being thumped,..handcuffed,..dragged and thrown around like a ragdoll..she and Donnie Yen are absolutely hilarious and ultra-violent all at once in the same movie!(Plus..she is photographed beautifully as well)! Robin Shou delivers high flying kicks as well as Donnie!! Really this is quite a surprise!! Enjoy this one!! Swordplay, Gunfights, and Kung Fu make this one a winner...I have a no sub version and it still is a joy to watch. My only complaint is what was the purpose of Cynthia Khan in this movie anyway..they could have written her into the script more and made an even better movie than it already is. Oh well..I'll take her cameo but this is Donnie's movie all the way.


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 11/16/2002
Summary: Not bad


Not nearly as good as the original, but pretty good action film anyway.

2.5/5


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 03/07/2002
Summary: Very good

i am so sure i already reviewed this but briefly this is like a top notch jackie chan movie, withn donnie yen as the lead. The action is excellent and the comedy is very funny. You dont want to miss this movie.

8/10


Reviewed by: Ryoga
Date: 12/23/2001

My friend recommanded this film so I decided to buy the DVD. Donnie stars as an ex-cop that ends up getting caught up with Rosamund Kwan and they both get framed for murder. Yuen Woo Ping chorographs the fights and they look awesome! Also stars Robin Shou, David Wu, John Salvitti, and Michael Woods. Also a small cameo appearance from Cynthia Khan. By the way, there is no relation with the first Tiger Cage film.


Reviewed by: natty
Date: 04/24/2001
Summary: woof woof

AHa since someone has already laid the plot of this movie ,no need to get into details.This is one of the best movies ever made(no nonsense kind of movie)
It's also a cousin to {In The Line of Duty 4}same director and almost the same cast. It kept me on toes all the way.An Excellent movie that was and it made me start collecting all Donnie Yen's movies.


Reviewed by: Ash
Date: 02/04/2001
Summary: One of the best modern action hk movie!!

I'll say it again: Tiger Cage II is simply one of the best modern day action movie from Hong Kong. This movie has it all to become a classic: martial arts, gunfights, an awesome swordfight, comedy, and good characters and stunts!! Don't be fooled by the title it has nothing to do with the first Tiger Cage!! Donnie Yen (The greatest, in my opinion!!), Robin Shou(from Mortal Kombat, but don't worry he fights extremely well in this movie) and David Wu star in this great action movie. The last 20 minutes of the movie are fights after fights: Robin against David, Donnie against John Salvitti, Donnie against Michael Woods, Donnie against Robin!!! The movie's is also extremely well directed by the Master himself: Yuen-Woo Ping. And Donnie, Yuen Cheung-Yan and Yuen Shun-Yee(two brothers of Yuen Woo-Ping) are in charge of the action sequences. Simply get this movie if you are looking for a great ACTION movie from HK...............................9,3/10


Reviewed by: jfierro
Date: 12/21/1999

Donnie Yen is at his very best here as a rude, short-temperedformer cop who goes on the run from the law with pretty, refined lawyer Rosamund Kwan after they witness a botched robbery attempt. Not only do the cops think they are murderers, but the real robbers think they got away with the money. Of course, Rosamund soon finds out that underneath the surface, Donnie really has a heart of gold. But that doesn't stop him from kicking major butt throughout most of this movie. The final climactic battles against Michael Woods and Robin Shou by themselves would make the film worth watching. But there is far more to this film than that, especially because Donnie Yen is so good at portraying characters who can be tough and silly at the same time. His comic talents are on full display here. By the way, the only relation this film has to the first TIGER CAGE is a brief appearance by Carol "DoDo" Cheng.