ǩ_ (1994)
Fire Dragon


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 06/05/2008
Summary: Disappointed

A had some high expectations for this movie especially with the positive reviews, but i found it boring.

When there is no action, its pretty boring. MY mum laughed a few times but i didnt find any of it funny. A over the top pyrotechnic spectaular wasnt enough for me to like this movie.

The action itself is sped up. Still watchable but only a once viewing

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: j.crawford
Date: 05/01/2006
Summary: Astounding and strange....

When the LD of this movie came out in 1994, I made a VHS copy and carried it around with me. I showed it all over, to anyone who would indulge me. I would tell them that this movie was the real deal. A few years later during the success of The Matrix and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, several of the initiated contacted me to ask “isn’t that guy Yuen the one who directed that crazy movie you showed me?”

Astounding and strange, this movie is stunning filmmaking. Yuen Wo-Ping directed this film, while his brother Cheung-Yan and Joe Chu Kai-Sang handled the action direction. This was one of the last films that Brigitte Lin Ching-Hsia appeared in and she does her usual fine job. Cinematography by Jingle Ma Choh-Shing is outstanding.

{en español] Cuando el LD de esta película se estrenó en 1994, hice una copia en VHS y se lo llevó conmigo. Me mostró que en todas partes, a cualquier persona que me lo permiten. Yo les diría que esta película era el verdadero negocio. Unos años más tarde en el éxito de The Matrix y Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, varios de los iniciados en contacto conmigo para preguntar "¿no es ese tipo Yuen quien dirigió la película loca que me enseñaste?" Sorprendente y extraña, esta película es cine impresionante. Yuen Wo-Ping dirigió esta película, mientras que su hermano Cheung-Yan y Joe Chu Kai-Sang maneja la dirección de la acción. Esta fue una de las últimas películas que Brigitte Lin Ching-Hsia, y apareció en ella hace su trabajo muy bien siempre. Fotografía por Jingle Ma Choh-Shing es excepcional.

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: balstino
Date: 05/06/2003
Summary: Not sure about this one....

I had really high hopes, and don't get me wrong, some of the fighting is excellent, BUT....... With the story and characters, it tries to do a Wing Chun and comes nowhere near. If you like loads of Fire stuff, a bit of sword play and a story line that takes it's good old time, Fire Dragon might be for you.


Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 04/13/2003
Summary: The most Flawless movie ever made!

Top notch wuxia flick. Wo Ping directs, Cheung Yan choreographs, Brigitte stars and Sandra shines through. One of my all time favorites.

[10/10]


Reviewed by: ksbutterbox
Date: 03/17/2002
Summary: Always a pleasure to show..

People who think the Matrix was a cool movie! Ha! This movie has more action in the first 10 min. than the entire Matrix. Even though Sandra Ng's character seems a bit out of place here..when this movie gets into gear it totally rocks! Lots of great wire & fast edited shots make this a jaw dropping period film. I highly recommend this for sheer action entertainment !


Reviewed by: Trigger
Date: 05/13/2001
Summary: Really good

This film has some remarkable action in it. Great performances and some fantastic special effects. This is not one to pass by.

Rating: Movie - 7.5/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/21/1999

Attempting to vie for power the evil Prince Six and his maskedassassin the Flame Devil plot to kill the Prime Minister. Amidst fire and destruction the Fiery Dragon Team and the Imperial guard team together to extinguish the flame of the evil prince.

[Reviewed by Tai Seng Catalog]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

FIRE DRAGON is the best-looking film I've watched recently, since BRIDE WITH WHITE HAIR 2 anyway. The cinematography and compositions are very well done. The opening sequence is very dynamic, an attempt to steal an incriminating letter. For some reason, the sound effects sounded really good in that theatre that day, very effective...

[Reviewed by Anonymous]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Right from the start of this film you know it's going to be good. Flying people for the first 10 minutes, then a very well told, well acted story unfolds (Fire Dragon sees what she is doing is wrong when she comes in contact with innocent people she would have killed if she was not undercover, and starts caring for them). The end fight scenes are incredible, and Bridgette Lin is great.

(9/10)



[Reviewed by Dale Whitehouse]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

Brigitte Lin is Fire Dragon, a martial arts adept working for a renegade prince who wears lipstick. She causes fires and explosions at will -- but when she discovers the effect her royally sanctioned violence has ordinary villagers, she switches sides and explodes a great many princely things.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6