Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
特警新人類 (1999)
Gen-X Cops


Reviewed by: Libretio
Date: 10/16/2005
Summary: Routine showcase for new talent

GEN-X COPS (1999)

Aspect ratio: 2.39:1 (Anamorphic)
Sound format: Dolby Digital

Jackie Chan co-produced this routine blockbuster as a showcase for some of Hong Kong's hottest new teen stars, including Nicholas Tse, Stephen Fung, Daniel Wu and comic relief Sam Lee. The convoluted storyline posits Tse, Fung and Lee as a trio of rebellious young cops, recruited as undercover agents by police commander Eric Tsang to investigate the shady business dealings between low-level Triad underling Wu and a Japanese crime lord (Toru Nakamura) who has seized a shipment of deadly explosives for nefarious purposes, prompting a sequence of betrayals and counter-betrayals amongst members of the opposing criminal factions, until events reach an explosive climax during a showdown at the newly-opened Hong Kong Convention Center.

Veteran director Benny Chan (A MOMENT OF ROMANCE, NEW POLICE STORY) marshals proceedings into a cohesive whole, though the movie fizzles badly after a dynamic opening sequence before rallying again somewhere around the halfway mark. The action scenes are staged and executed with all the breathless abandon one expects from HK cinema, but many of them unfold so quickly, it's often difficult to know who's doing what to whom, or even why, and crucial plot points are sometimes lost along the way. Few of the actors emerge with any credit, though Nakamura is admirably solemn as an English-speaking Japanese villain who clings to old-fashioned notions of truth and righteousness in a world where such virtues no longer have currency. The young leads are OK (Wu's transition from beleaguered second-in-command to ruthless hard man is surprisingly convincing), while Tsang spends much of his screen time trading insults with his younger, slicker police counterpart (Moses Chan). Stand-out set-pieces include a breathtaking sky-dive from the roof of a high-rise building, and the climactic scenes of destruction at the Hong Kong Convention Center, rendered via CGI and miniatures by a US effects team. Sensitive viewers may be irritated by some xenophobic comments directed toward the Japanese villains, and there's a couple of dialogue exchanges which play directly to bigoted attitudes about gay men, but the offence is fleeting, if unnecessary. Ultimately, this big budget fluff - designed to compete with a flood of Hollywood blockbusters dominating the HK box-office - amounts to little more than a feel-good fantasy thriller, as slick and hollow as the very films it seeks to emulate. A huge success on its home turf, the film spawned an inevitable sequel, GEN-Y COPS (2000).

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: Arshadnm6
Date: 04/22/2005
Summary: Hollywood Style Trash with newbee's......

Rebellious police cadets Jack (played by Nicholas Tse from ‘Time and Tide’, ‘The Mirror’ and ‘My Schoolmate, The Barbarian’), Match (played by Stephen Fung from ‘Enter the Pheonix’, ‘The Avenging Fist’ and ‘Cheap Killers’), and Alien (played by Sam Lee from ‘A Man called Hero’, ‘Skyline Cruisers’ and ‘A War named Desire’), who are about to kicked out of the cadet training school for their lack of discipline and respect towards their superiors, but are recruited by a depressed policeman (played by Eric Tsang from ‘Hitman’ and ‘Infernal Affairs I and II’) to go undercover as common thugs into the criminal underworld. Aiding them is Y2K (played by Grace Yip), an inside hacker into the goings-on of the gangsters concerned who wants to avenge her brother’s death. The group of misfits try to infiltrate young gang boss Daniel (played by Daniel Wu from), who is connected to a Japanese arms dealer Akatora (played by Toru Nakamura from ‘Tokyo Raiders’ and ‘2009 Lost Memories’). Meanwhile, Daniel’s new girlfriend Haze (played by Jaymee Ong from) still carries a torch for her old flame, Match. Moses Chan Ho (from ‘The Blade’, ‘Knock Off’ and ‘Black Mask’) is policeman Eric Tsang’s colleague in the police force and is always giving him a hard time and at odds with him. Francis Ng (from ‘The Mission’, ‘Shiver’ and ‘The White Dragon’) acts as a close underworld ally of Daniel’s older brother and is constantly out to seek the killer of his friend.

The film was very high-budget with lots of explosions and stunts thrown in to keep things moving along. Although, the storyline was quite original and complex, it did not carry any sub-plots and a few too many twists occurred (more than necessary) throughout the movie. Moreover, the acting by two groups of people must be considered in this movie; the inexperienced youths (consisting of Stephen Fung, Nicholas Tse, Sam Lee, Jamie Ong, Daniel Wu and Grace Yip) and the maverick/veteran actors (composed of Toru Nakamaru, Francis Ng, Eric Tsang, Terence Yin and Moses Chan Ho). The earlier group are irritating and make up most of the film in contrast to the later in that respect. This big explosion action-comedy has little to offer besides some attractive fluff floating around the screen most of the time along with a few childish pranks. At times, Daniel Wu’s inexperience is clear as big-time gangster and looks too small-time to be taken seriously most of the time. Also, the apparent ignorance and embedded beliefs of most of the experienced actors brings about their downfall at the end. Also, the mood of the movie is never too serious, always trying to be youthfully energetic and cool and looks silly, when it tries to be, during the deaths of the actors mentioned earlier. As a result, most of the solid characters in this movie are not given the credit or opportunity they deserve for “co-starring” (yes! Not starring) in this filth.

Perhaps the selection of Nicholas Tse as the hard-nuts fighter and Stephen Fung as the gigolo/women-magnet could have been swapped between them since realistically Stephen Fung has actual martial arts ability as well as experience of being involved in fight scenes and some action choreography work. Nevertheless, Sam Lee fully deserved the role of a side actor hanging around with the group for comedic value as done through all of his earlier and future acting performances. Also the inclusion of actors such as English-speaking newcomer Jamie Ong and solely Japanese and English-speaking Toru Nakamura made this film seem too shallow and their inclusion merely gave the movie a cool atmosphere. This movie therefore tried to capitalise on the tri-lingual movies market yet again (alongside the likes of ‘Tokyo Raiders’, ‘Hitman’ and ‘Fist of Legend’). Moreover, the experienced actors such as pitiful Eric Tsang acting like a depressed policeman and a psychotic Francis Ng gave their characters more dimensions but inevitably were killed-off to make space for the youngsters in the movie to lead the way. Also, Daniel Wu acted like a spoilt brat most of the time and never really convinced anyone of his acting as an acceptable nemesis and again he was disposed-off with when his use was fulfilled. Finally, Ken Lo and Jackie make a single cameo each in the movie but it is only a waste too see such experience being undermined by such crappy and flawed acting youth. If there is Hollywood trash like ‘Bad Boys II’, then there can certainly be Hong Kong trash and ‘Gen-X-Cops’ is a prime candidate for this title. Director Benny Chan should have known better than to use one of Jackie Chan’s awful ideas as an excuse for a movie which did not do anyone a credit. Basically, it must have been a flop!!!

Overall, Gen-X-Cops is not at all irritating most of the time and is fairly enjoyable to watch with its share of flaws but jumps from one idea to the next too quickly (needs to be paced out) and has a wealth of developing talent starring in it. The names of most characters are ultra-hip and ridiculous at the same time, the acting is worse and the explosions/stunts are always trying to rescue their groovy party-mood performance to provide extra eye candy for the one-off action fan. Only watch this if you are a major fan of the young starring actors!

Overall Rating: 6.8/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: jimnicstephdan
Date: 01/18/2003
Summary: Gen X Cops

this movie has a really great story.


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/31/2002
Summary: Average!!

Better than Gen y cops by a long shot.
I can see in some aspects why my net friend likes this movie so much. For girls there is a lot of cute guys to look at. The action is pretty good. All the actors do well in there roles but just like Gen y cops, they speak a lot of english. I did not know nicolas tse english was so good.

Out of all the performances, Francis Ng is the standout. He plays these types of roles to perfection and above that.

But saying all this, there is nothing new with movie. Plot seems old and it was a bit predictable.

Also look out for the jackie chan cameo!!

6.25/10


Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 05/18/2002

This movie came out more or less on par with my expectations. While the CGI/SFX was no where near as extravagent as I expected (I was anticipating a "year 3000" cinematography, but it was year 2000), the acting and action went beyond my expectations.

This is scary, but I have liked Nicholas Tse in every lead role I've seen him in (which is only 2 movies). He always holds a gun sideways, and that's pretty cool. Sam Lee's comic relief is always welcome, as is the hottie Jaymee Ong!!!

Eric Tsang is also a nice addition to the cast. I must have seen 20 of his movies without ever knowing who he was. He was that chubby guy whose Mandarin voice is always dubbed by a high pitched man. It is so comical, and it's always a pleasure.

Francic Ng is also great... in fact let's just put it this way: the whole cast is excellent. The only complain I have is that this movie has some moments designed exclusively for youngsters. Stephen Fung is a player in this movie, and since he is a big pop star (maybe, I dunno), they decided he needed some heartthrob scenes. And the ending... well, it's a happy ending - a very unrealistic one.

The explosions, they are definitely a big part of the movie. Despite all spectacularness of the last/main explosion, I thought it was overdone. It would have been nice to leave/manipulate the imagination of the audience.

Overall, this movie is well worth watching, and perhaps deserve multiple viewings. You've seen it all, but it's still nice to see it again. Just don't expect a FANTASY ACTIONER-like Heroic Trio-with spectacular SFX. The DVD is also awesome; it features a widescreen transfer and more extra features than I can count.

[8/10]

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 01/12/2002
Summary: Nothing much

Tried too hard to break internationally on this one. The story was okay, but the effects were pretty stupid and way too fake, they should not have bothered. Jackie Chan had involment on the production side of things, and that's obvious when you see how stupid some parts are. For action, it's okay I guess, still, it's not the kind of thing to watch over and over.

I'm more inclined to give this 2.5, but will go that but higher, because it is entertaining.

RAting (out of 5): 3

(This rating is based on the year & genre, so don't think it's based as a comparison on new releases etc.)

Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: mehaul
Date: 07/04/2001

3 yutes as they are being thrown off the force are recruited as undercover cops. They’re just a little too hip and rebellious (or maybe I’m just too old). More time should have been spent on acting and improving the story line than on the attractive cast members hair styles. Action is fair.
4/10

Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: lil_dragon_girl
Date: 06/29/2001
Summary: Gen-X Cops

The movie was spectacular, though in some scenes you could tell it was fake. Match, Jack and Alien made a really great team. The entire film was hilarious.I didn't think it was a really great idea to make it mix language. From my opinion I think this film was better than Gen-Y Cops. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants a laughter over the summer holidays(^_^)


Reviewed by: runo_jp
Date: 06/12/2001
Summary: Gen-X cops

I hope this kind of movie does not become the future of HK cinema. Half well done, half dull, the only ones saving the movie being the veterans of HK movies (Francis Ng for example!)
Eric Tsang is good in the first part, then lost it half-way through (SPOILER : his death is laughable!)
The newcomers are… disparate. Nicolas Tse is on his way to stardom. Sam Lee plays it cool (best role is still “Made in HK”). Stephen Fung is pure boredom. I don’t even remember the last one of them.
Lots of pretty girls in the movies is a plus.
5/10

Reviewer Score: 5

Reviewed by: TKC
Date: 05/23/2001
Summary: High-octane stuff


Yeah this is the movie I've been waiting to see, The film contains good action, good looking guys and girls and plenty of pace. Genxcops has got style and some really good set pieces. There are some fine performances from Nic Tse, Francis Ng and Daniel Wu.

This film definitely targets a young audience with its use of young actor/actresses and is well recommended to all.
10/10

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: nomoretitanic
Date: 03/11/2001
Summary: Badass Villains

A movie is only as good as its villain. This movie had some cool great villains. The bad guys in this movie had more lines more actions more guns more honor and more everything than our boyband cops. That's what made the movie so fun, Francis Ng talking about Jiang Hu and triad honors, that Japanese dude refusing to give up the deadly remote control, the evil and stupid colleague giving Eric Tsang crap...
This movie is probably the best of the Hollywood Eastern, it captures both the rawness of HK movies (some cool stunts and shootouts, thanks to Chan Ga Ban) and the craftiness of Hollywood filmmaking. Some special effects shots were really cheesy, like the shot at the end with the three boys being hurtled through the air towards us, or the skydiving sequences. The three-on-one battle at the end wasn't very exceptional either, but the badass thug villain just made up for it, he was a cool guy. Didn't speak English too well nor did he execute any amazing move, but he held up. What a badass.

If you have the soundtrack you should try this at home: during the last fight, right before Akatora says "I've began the countdown 15 minute ago", play the theme song "You Can't Stop Me" and the sequence at the same time--they match really really well.

There it is, of course it's not remarkable, but just because this movie has made on damned near EVERYONE's guilty pleasure list, it becomes remarkable. When people like The Fugivtive with Harrison Ford and Tommy Lee Jones, that's because they are fine actors. But when people like a movie with Nick Tse, that's magic.

A lot of magic.


Reviewed by: akasha
Date: 03/10/2001
Summary: Entertaining movie with some flaws

I think Gen X-Cops was one of the most entertaining movies I have seen this year. It had a fairly good story, decent effects and good action sequences. It had some minor flaws, like a script composed in its majority by cliches, actors that in some scenes showed inexperienced, and the most annoying flaw of all: THIS KIDS TALK, ACT, AND DRESS SO COOL IT'S SILLY, SAD AND UTTERLY DESERVING OF A KICK IN THE BUTT. They sometimes come off more as cartoon characters than real people (that coming from a gen x girl). Specially Sam Lee's Alien... the character tries to be so funny he becomes annoying. It is good to say that Alien was improved for Gen-Y Cops. Overall, a good enjoyable movie with some flaws that can be overlook (also, good performances by the young stars and specially by Toru Nakayama).


Reviewed by: AV1979
Date: 02/07/2001

This film is one of my favorite HK action films of all time. It's all because of the cast and the action that make up this film!!! The plot, involving four unlikely heroes who must infiltrate a gang, whose leader works for a Yakuza terrorist, is something I would expect from Hollywood.

Benny Chan did an excellent job as director of this film. A lot of the credit goes to Arthur Wong for his excellent style of photography and to Nicky Li Chung Chi, for training the stars (Nicholas TSE, Stephen FUNG, and Sam LEE) for the hard stunts and fight sequences. It was such a shame that Nicholas was doubled in the finale due to a knee injury.

The villains, led by Toru NAKAMURA and Daniel WU, were great. Daniel had that evil but somewhat cool look to him. I thought Jaymee ONG looks great as Haze, the troubled girl who came between Daniel and Match.

Eric TSANG gave some great flair as Inspector Chan, the troubled officer who recruits our heroes into action. From his first scene, you will hate Moses CHAN's character of Inspector To. He thinks he is always right and is such a jerk!!! You will like Francis NG's character of Lok. He is so funny in his scene with Akatora, played with sheer coolness by Nakamura. One more thing: Look for a cameo by Jackie CHAN!!!

4 out of 4!!!! I love this film...look forward to seeing GEN-Y COPS!!!

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: ICU
Date: 02/07/2001
Summary: It's a good film.

First of all I have to say that I didn't watch this film because of Nicholas Tse Ting Fung, because I known many people who just watches films because someone they like is starring in it. As much as I hate that wanker Nicholas Tse Ting Fung in this film and ALL the other he star in, I find myself liking this film alot {not because of that wanker Nicholas Tse Ting Fung}. It has a good story, good action and even some good comedy.
The only thing that put me off this film is Nicholas Tse Ting Fung, the reason for this is that I REALLY think that he can't act, I know that alot of people will dissagree with me but think about it, YOU only like him because he's good looking and he is only famous because he has a famous dad, without his dad I really think that he will never get to play the leading role in this movie or be as famous as he is now, I know that I should be reviewing the movie and not him but the thing is that HE don't deserve to be in such a good film like Gen X Cop, I should say that if he play any role it might be better {or mayby not}, ALL credits goes to:

Stephen Fung Tak-Lun, Sam Lee Chan Sam, Daniel Wu Yin-Cho and Grace Yip Pui Man.

Nicholas Tse Ting Fung go and cry to your daddy, you fucking wanker.


Reviewed by: jotarou
Date: 11/26/2000
Summary: Good Action Flick


This movie follows the Wong Jing formula of "All things for all people" somewhat but unlike Jing's movie's it succeeds well on most of the levels. As an action flick it is very good. The Choreography is top notch all arenas of fighting, guns and car chases. The comedy side is also quite good and is low key enough to fit in to the movie nicely. The performances? Everyone does their job well. Sam Lee is probably the most talented actor of the three and his mandatory goofiness is a nice answer to Nichlas Tse's "bad boy" and Stephen Fung's "lady killer". The female's in this movie look good and that is about it, they know their place and stay there. The Cantonese/Japanese/English script is kind of weird but I don't mind. It gives the film a more international/big budget feel.
Where the movie has a problem is deciding where to focus in its antagonist. It begins with an intimidating Toru Nakamura, as a Japanese Yakuza/terrorist but he disappears and then the focus turns to Daniel Wu and his rivalry with Francis Ng and then goes back to Toru Nakamura, who's the bad guy here? My guess is eventhough this a "New Generation" action flick, it holds on to the old generation cliche of Japanese being the incarnation of pure evil and Daniel Wu is just a tragic, confused gangster who mistakenly aligned with him. Other than that it is a movie which proves when it comes to pretty boy action, accept no substitutes. Hong Kong is the only place to go for it. I'm looking forward to Gen-Y Cops!!


Reviewed by: illmatic
Date: 10/02/2000

Gen-X Cops was certainly an entertaining movie. It had all of the elements of a blockbuster. Great Cast, decent plot, and above average special effects. The movie was funny, hip, and had great action scenes. If you are going to watch a movie to be entertained, this one will do the trick.


Reviewed by: sharon
Date: 07/10/2000
Summary: *sigh*

TO start off with, I didn't expect much from this film, and I was right. I guess Hong Kong's attempt at a Hollywood teen flick didn't work out that well. The movie was pretty bad, but I guess seeing all those cute faces was the stupid marketing scheme to attract an audience.
There was too many unnessary scenes, not to mention the low-level acting ability which was hard to bear. What the hell was with the English, Cantonese, and Japanese language getting all mixed together? If actors can't speak english then just don't talk! The whole sterotypical depiction of "Gen Xers" was a bit much.
All these young new actors are trying to make a name for themselves, the film is a good starting point, afterall it's the face that sells. But I'ld much rather see some work into their acting. they were bland..well, alright...they had maybe 4 scenes where it shows some hope..but not enough.
The only enjoyable part of the film, was the action. At least they followed the same guidlines; a big explosive ending!
This movie tried and failed. it was worth wasting money just to see a cute face.


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 06/06/2000
Summary: Inexperience of Youth

"Gen-X Cops" is a "wannabe" movie. It wants to be an action movie; it wants to showcase new talent; and it wants to entertain. Benny Chan and the script doctors should have stuck to one language, instead of trying to be international by having the characters speak in forked tongues: Cantonese, Japanese, English. It would have worked if they used slang or more colloquial dialogue. Granted it was better than the recent "Mod Squad" film, but not by much.

It seemed like many of the actors walked through the film. In bringing new talent to the screen, the director forgot to have the inexperienced newcomers rehearse. Nicholas Tse is another in the long line of pop stars taking a crack at making movies. Overall, his attempt was somewhat successful, but he needs to cut his teeth on smaller films where he wouldn't look as lost. Tse's appearance in "A Man Called Hero," playing a supporting role worked much better than as a lead. He didn't have to carry the movie. Many of the scenes were contrived and didn't appear to be believable. Sure the young actors looked cute, but they were wooden. Having one character speak Cantonese and another responding in English grew tiresome.

Sam Lee was the standout of the three (Tse and Stephen Fung as the other two) probably because he's the most seasoned actor. And, the more I see of Francis Ng, the more I like him--except for that bad English dialogue, which was a waste for many of the supporting characters to spout. It also appears that Grace Yip is the "it" girl of the moment, having been cast in many other films in supporting roles, as of late.

Fianlly, the action was above board, but standard fare for a Hong Kong actioner. Movies today are relying too much on special effects. "Gen-X Cops" is no exception. This is another film where you need to put your brain away to enjoy. As a Jackie Chan production, the film had the budget, and even a closing cameo by Jackie. But, you really didn't care what happened to any of the characters in the movie, which was eye candy without soul.


Reviewed by: bigmike
Date: 03/22/2000

Hong Kong 1999, a sinister alliance has been formed between a faction of the Hong Kong Triads and members of the Japanese Yakuza. When a shipment of lethal explosives goes missing, veteran Hong Kong Police officer Eric Tsang forms a team of offbeat young Policemen to track it down. These three Gen-X Cops, are Jack (Nicholas Tse), Match (Stephen Fung), and Alien (Sam Lee), assisted by the lovely computer genius Y-2K (Grace Yip), they find themselves up against a similarly youthful gang boss, Daniel (Dan Wu) and the shadowy Japanese mastermind behind him, Tiger (Toru Nakamura). Throw in rival Triad boss Francis Ng, the return of Match's long lost love Jayme, now Daniel's girlfriend, a condescending Police Superintendent (Moses Chan), and turn of the century Hong Kong becomes a stunning backdrop for this showdown between the law and the lawless, with Hong Kong's Convention Centre as the location for the final showdown.

Hong Kong Action Cinema enters a new era with Gen-X Cops, the first co-production between Jackie Chan's JC Group & Media Asia. A hot young cast, Nicholas Tse, Stephen Fung, Sam Lee, Grace Yip, Daniel Wu etc and strong director Benny Chan are teamed with Oscar Winning special effects expert Joe Viskocil (Apollo 13, Independence Day), to provide the film with a truly explosive finale, while Hong Kong vehicular action maestro Bruce Law handles the car stunts, while non other than Nicky Li and the Jackie Chan Stuntman Club provide the physical action. Veterans of several James Bond movies handle the film's parachuting action. Throw in master cinematographer Arthur Wong whose credits include Crime Story, Once Upon A Time In China, Knock Off and many more, and a brief but genuinely funny cameo appearance by a certain Jackie Chan and you have one of the most enjoyable Hong Kong movies of the last few years.

Directed by Benny Chan whose skillful hands have helmed such classics as A Moment of Romance, the Big Bullet & Who Am I?, the film belts along at a breakneck pace. It's not a perfect film, but it's still one hell of an enjoyable ride. The cast is led by actor and singer Nicholas Tse(son of 60's idol Patrick Tse), who made his acting debut in Andrew Lau's, Young & Dangerous: The Prequel. The young Tse threw himself into this role big time, and gets the chance to show not only can he act but the boy can move. He handles the physicality of the role very well, proving adept in the fight scenes, performing a lot of his own stunts and in true Jackie Chan fashion suffered for his art when a stunt went wrong during the films finale, and he was slammed shin first into a gantry 50 feet up. Give the man, a few more years and more strong roles and Nicholas Tse could well be the new Hong Kong action star.
Stephen Fung who until recently had been known more for his arty roles in such films as Bishonen and The Poet sadly doesn't come across as well. He handles the action ok, even taking on my old buddy Brad Allan in a fight scene that while appearing in the trailer and the lobby cards was for some reason cut from the finished film, but his performance isn't appealing. He doesn't come across in anyway as a likeable character. Sam Lee from Made in Hong Kong pretty much steals the show in the hero department, not only does he give the best performance of the three acting wise, his eccentricities fit the role of Alien perfectly, You could really imagine that he comes from a galaxy, far, far away but he also throws himself into the action very well. He's not the most graceful or best looking fighter, far from it, but the way he fights, the way he acts, it'll keep you laughing. I especially enjoyed his brief fight scene with Japanese action actor Keiji Sato from Hitman. The lovely Grace Yip is incredibly cute as Y2K, and handles herself well in her brief acting and action sequences, but her role in this film and in A Man Called Hero, call for her to do very little beyond turn up, look cute, perform a few brief moves and that's it, although she does do it very well. The girl is cute, gutsy and looks like she can really move, give her a chance someone!

JC Group's own Daniel Wu really impressed me in this film, he came to Hong Kong a few years back to pursue a career as an action actor, but has found himself mainly headlining some intense drama's, Bishonen & City Of Glass to name but two, before making a transition into action movies. I'd previously seen a clip in the trailer where he came across as a whiny little kid and it had put me off of him immediately. However upon on watching the whole film, I realized that was what he was trying to put across, his character in the film is struggling to prove he can run the triad group when all he really is, is just a kid, ready to follow anyone who'll promise him a better deal. Strangely enough, of the leads, Daniel is probably the most talented martial arts wise but doesn't get to throw a punch or kick in the movie; instead he gets to swagger with a mean Uzi 9mm. (Look for Daniel to headline the next Media-Asia/JC Group release Purple Storm, co-starring Joan Chen & directed by old friend Teddy Chen from Downtown Torpedoes.) Eric Tsang provides the laughs as the Gen-X Cops put upon boss, he's looked down upon by his fellow officers and sees solving this case as his one chance at redemption and finally making the grade. Francis Ng makes the most of his brief role as Daniel's Triad rival, with a speech by Bey Logan that's so cool, if unprintable that I'm going to have to rip it off, I mean pay homage to it in a future production "Last night, I had a dream¡K" Japanese actor Toru Nakamura who some of you may have seen in Blue Tiger with Virginia Madsen (if you haven't seen it, check it out!), and New York City Cop which saw him teamed with Mira Sorvino and Conan Lee! (If you haven't seen this, thank the lord!) Steals the show acting wise, he brings such great presence and charisma to his role as Tiger the Yakuza boss. From his most minute mannerisms to his admirable martial arts skills, and his way cool dress sense. You know he's a baddy from the moment you see him, but he's a great one.

The supporting cast all do their best with the only drawbacks being that so much of Brad Allan's work on the movie was cut, he turns up, you keep expecting him to fight, but he never does, instead handling all manner of stuntwork including doubling for Eric Tsang in the fat suit. Numerous members of the Friday Lunch Club make appearances in the movie too, Wing Chun maestro Chris Collins, Hung Gar's David Taylor and Mark"the Drunken Master"Holland, and Hung Gar stylist David Leong soon to be seen in Treasure Hunters. And a special award should go to Media Asia's man for all seasons Bey Logan as the Swat Team Commander, he only gets a few lines but he makes the most of them, and I look forward to seeing his return in all future Media Asia productions. Kaiji the Japanese crimelord from Jet Li's Hitman also makes the most of his limited screentime when he demolishes Sam Lee in Hot Gossip disco. Maybe it's just me but, while I really enjoyed the movie, I wanted more in the way of physical action, yes, the films parachuting scenes are quite impressive and pretty well handled, and the films explosive finale is good, but I wanted more in the way of martial arts, hmm..maybe in Gen-X Cops 2. As for Jackie's cameo, it's a worthy one that always catches the audience and it works a hell of a lot better than the one in Project S.

Gen-X Cops received as much hype and press attention here as Star Wars: The Phantom Menace did overseas, complete with various trailers, early promo posters, making of's etc, and while I wasn't expecting it to, it pretty much lived up to the hype. Yes, it's not perfect and there are a few scenes that should be changed and I think that more of the films physical action should have been left in, it's still one of the most enjoyable Hong Kong movies in a long time. So while you're waiting for the next Jackie film, I can't think of many better ways of passing the time then by sitting back and watching Gen-X Cops. It's fun, it's funky and wait till you see the DVD they're gonna put out of it!

Reviewer Score: 9

Reviewed by: MilesC
Date: 03/11/2000
Summary: Keep your expectations low...

... And you just might get some small enjoyment out of this movie. True, it tries too hard to be "hip," doesn't have nearly enough action for this type of movie, and has a messy screenplay with some fairly lousy English dialogue. But compared to other Hollywood imitators, it's not bad. The action scenes are well-handled, the art direction is sometimes nice, and some of the actors are entertaining. Francis Ng is good, and while the Japanese villain isn't too convincing with his English dialogue, he at least looks cool. I won't buy the DVD, but I'll keep my VCD. It's worth a look, and certainly more watchable than certain other recent high-budget junk.


Reviewed by: Udar55
Date: 02/11/2000
Summary: One of the worst films I have seen all year!

Given the participants in the production of this film (Benny Chan, Jackie Chan), I would have expected some action in the film. But no, you are left waiting and waiting and waiting. The final confrontation lasts a mere 3 minutes.
Beyond that, the characters are annoying and the plot doesn't make any sense. Sure, the film has great production values but "doth not a good movie make". Avoid at all costs.


Reviewed by: ryan
Date: 11/21/1999
Summary: Gen-X Cops (1999)

With the coming of June, it's time for summer movies to show in front of big screens. Out of various summer moives, 'Gen-X Cops' seems to be the first release in front of us. It seems that Media Asia is very confident with the quality of the movie by using new stars like Nicholas TSE Ting-fung, Stephen FUNG Tak-lun, Sam LEE Chan-sum plus Grace YIP Pui-man. Together with special effects made by the term with 'Independence Day' (1996), you can see how ambitious they are.

'Gen-X Cops' started with Wai (LAM Ka-tung) who failed to import military for a Japaese terrorist. He was killed by his brother Daniel (Daniel WU) while Daniel co-operated with nortorious Japanese terrorist (Toru Nakamura) and taken the bombs away from the Police. Hong Kong Police Force seems to pay full alert towards the case. However, Eric TSANG, an inspector with mental disability, is not invited to get involved in the case. He tried to form his task force by finding Jack (Nicolas TSE Ting-fung), Alien (Sam LEE Chan-sum) and Match (Stephen FUNG Tak-lun), who just be withdrawal by the principal of the Police Training School. These three inexperienced kids works with another girl Y2K (Grace YIP Pui-man) who is supposed to be the expert of computer to break the case. During the investigation -- they found one of their horrible action -- destroying the new convention centre with the stolen powerful chemical weapon and they would like to stop them......

After you watched 'Gen-X Cops', I think you will agree that it's a quality production. However, I think the main input is from the director and some of the castings. The plot of 'Gen-X Cops' seems to be very typical. Or if you try to change the cast into Jackie CHAN as 'Gen-X Cops' while LO Wai-kwong as the baddies, it looks like a Jackie movie which you can watch every year.During the whole process, you can find lots of action scenes. However, n terms of description of these boys, I don't think the movie has got enough contents to talk about them. Maybe they will put more in the second series.

In spite of the typical plot, the good point of the plot is that it goes quite fast so that audience can keep the pace to enjoy the actions. This is one pooint that is important in action movies or audience won't enjoy it. 'Gen-X Cops' has done a good job here.

In terms of actions and explosions, I think Benny CHAN has done an excellent job in it. Some of the action designs are very cool like the gun fighting between Daniel and Francis NG Chun-yu and the final actions in convention centre are exciting. I appreciate they canmake good use of the enviornment around for actions.

Besides actions, I think this time there are also laughters through the movie. Sam LEE seems to be the one who initiates these laughters which makes the whole movie more fruitful.

In terms of the performers, this time it's a trial to cast new stars for the main role. Out of the four, Sam LEE is the most outstanding actor out of them, or even out of the whole movie. Though he stills like a casual teenagers, this time he does not need to whore while he can initiate lots of laughters and let audience to be impressed.

For Stephen FUNG Tak-lun, I regret to say it seems that the movie triesto make use of him asa an object to induce girls only. In fact, you can't see he can have more chances to act. I understand that it's akind of calculations for the market. Hope they can let Stephen act more in the second series.

Nicholas TSE, who is awarded the best new performer in the current Hong Kong Film awards, has done his assignment wee. Though his performance is not as outstanding as what Sam LEE has done, he meets the requirement of the movie as Jack who has very strong organization attribute.

About Grace YIP, it seems that her acting is a bit innatural in the movie. I think the script writer may need to bear part of the responsibilies in designing the character. Grace YIP acts as Y2K should show her strength in Computer/Network. However, what we can see in front of the screens is how she use Internet for web surfing. It is also a bit strange that she also involves in the actions. This results for the blur positioning of Grace in the movie which makes audience hard to follow.

Side casting LAM Ka-tung and Francis NG has done an excellent in the movie. Both were acted as the traditional triads. I think LAM acts even better than Francis NG. For Eric TSANG, I found it is good for them to try to design his character as a bit abnormal. However, his character design is also unrealistic. In addition, the development of Eric TSANG is also a bit weird. It seems that his development is too typical. Maybe it would be better to have another ending for him.

One point that you may note is that there are lots of dialogues in English. Maybe they try to make it more international. However, they have done it too far and some audience may query about LAM Ka-tung and Francis NG speaking English.

One thing that you may ask is how is the explosions for the Covention Centre. I think the effects is okay but it seems that audience may prefer the explosion in a larger scale.

In short, 'Gen-X Cops' is a quality production. In spite of the typical scripts, the actions are excellent. The performance of Sam LEE is also cool. Though the performance of other actors are a bit inexperienced, it doesn't affect much to the overall performance of the movie. At least it's still worth to see Benny CHAN's direction.