十二夜
Twelve Nights (2000)


Reviewed by: Hyomil
Date: 04/07/2011


Reviewer Score: 4

Reviewed by: Kyashan
Date: 03/21/2003
Summary: not so good

I watched this movie on vcd and I watched only first vcd because was boring. It is a classic turbulent love story, she leave her boyfriend for him, he leave his girlfriend for her and they are not happy togheter.
Some reviews before than mine is positive, and I bought this vcd reading them, but I don't liked it.

Ranting 5/10


Reviewed by: YutGouHoYun
Date: 01/19/2003
Summary: Twelve Nights by YouGouHoYun

Lets pretend for a moment that you know nothing about Aubrey Lam and her position in the thriving contemporary HK film industry. Lets forget that there was a UFO and their many splendid films. Twelve Nights is a slow paced melodrama about what he/she could have said or what he/she could have done but instead the results were not what we expected. The premise of the movie is about twelve particular nights in a relationship that felt doomed from the start. If you ever had a breakup, this movie is for you. If you have never experienced a break up, it is unrelatable.


Reviewed by: mejones
Date: 03/22/2002
Summary: Interesting...

Here we have what strictly is a relationship film: 12 key nights in the lives of Alan (Eason) and Jeannie (Cecilia) from their meeting to their break up, or not...? I'm not really sure how to write a review of this one, though I did like it a lot. I think that most people have been in a relationship like this one at one time or another throughout their lives and as a result can relate to "1st night" or "5th night" or "10th night" etc. Many of the sections have humourous taglines like "Only people in love believe they were destined to meet" and "Beware of people who are in love, they are also insane!" Alan and Jeannie meet through friends on her birthday, which is also Christmas day. VERY shortly thereafter their respective relationships end and they start seeing one another. Like all relationships, they start out being crazy for each other, and one of the "nights" revolves around Eason keeping Cecilia on the cell phone all night because he wants to see her but she keeps insisting it's too late, it's 2AM (now it's 3AM, 4AM, it's dawn, etc.) Unfortunately, by the 4th "night" she's suddenly criticizing how he looks and wants him to tell her something bad about himself ("why should I play this game?" he asks). On the 6th night he's being downright mean to her when she's trying to pick out a dress to wear to his office party. Things begin to unravel. I think that each snipet of the movie DOES reveal a little bit of truth about relationships in general, such as: a jealous boyfriend in a bad mood really DOESN'T want to know about the other guys you've slept with, PARTICULARLY if one of them looks like Stephen Fung, (and that deep down inside, most men DO have a double standard about sex; she should be pure and innocent while who he slept with before they met is just past history!) My only real complaint about this film is the fact that too much of the story is told from the woman's perspective, maybe because it was written and directed by a woman. Why did this guy go from caring about his girlfriend so much he'd keep her on the phone all night, to avoiding her and finding her annoying? (in his defense, she WAS acting insecure, clingy and controlling under the guise of 'caring'!) So, I'd have liked to see a bit more from the male perspective. Otherwise, a pretty interesting drama with good performances from both leads.


Reviewed by: future113
Date: 07/24/2001
Summary: OMG! This is an awesome movie!!!


OMG! This movie was incredibily nicely done. Cecilia Cheung did a great job and was cute as always. A drama about relationships that is true to life. There are lots of lessons to be learned from this movie my friends. I won't give away too much of the movie since it's a must see for all hk movie fans. Basically, Cecilia falls in love with this guy and the film goes through the various stages a relationship can have. Lots of funny moments and moments of sadness. Made me want to give Cecilia a big hug at times :)
I'd rate this film 10/10 with a DVD recommendation.... meaning go for the DVD instead of the vcd since you'll want to keep this one in your collection.


Reviewed by: runo_jp
Date: 06/15/2001
Summary: 12 nights

Funny, and well done. Almost all aspects of a relationship are covered. Shall I say it is a date-movie ???


Reviewed by: Fatty
Date: 04/03/2001
Summary: Pretty Good film

Although I'm a huge action fan, I dug this movie alot, it had one of my fav actress in Cecilia Cheung who always makes my day happy. well onto my meaningless review

The story is basically about well, two people who fall in love and during their time together, they have Twelve Nights that are like very important to them, will they brake up? will they stay together? well you just gotta watch the film

as I said before, I dug this movie alot, I'm not really into Drama's and romance shiat but this was a good 2 hours(Since it was on TV Saturday night :) ) to waste. I haven't seen any movie like this, so I'll say it's origional...for now, and I thought that the twelve days who drag on for a long time and make this movie three hours long. But it was all good, some nights were long and some were really short (Like Cecilia and Eason getting it on in bed then it heads to the next night, that kind of thing)

The acting to me was great, Cecilia is one of my goddess and should strongly consider calling me so we can go out on a date and take a trip on my Bubba Blimp :). Eason Chan was very good aswell, he played the guy who somewhat liked Cecilia but deep in side he didn't mean shiat to her (If I was Cecilia I would've kicked his sorry ass for nuttin ) I thought we would see alot of Stephen Fung and Nicholas Tse, but you only see Fung for about 3 minutes when he's at the Airport and Tse about 5 minutes, the beginning and end, when Tse and Cecilia meet by Cecilia trying to get away from the bum. Plus it was weird seeing the guy in a Business suit WTF!!??

plot: It was pretty good, Weird how it took Cecilia nearly a year to figure out that her ex really didn't go out with some model or whatever, It was just dumb to me, in all I liked it.


Music: It was nice, really wasn't paying attention to it but it was a nice touch to the film.


In all a very good film with some great acting by Cecilia and Eason, if you wanna see this movie for Stephen Fung and Nicholas Tse, well you should look somewhere else, they are only in the movie for less then 5 minutes combined, but if you wanna see Cecilia strutting her stuff, this is your film to see

5/5 (Cause of Cecilia Cheung ofcourse :) )

This review is brought to you by Fatty



Reviewed by: Paul Fonoroff
Date: 11/23/2000

Just because a story is “true to life” or “based on real experience” does not necessarily mean it makes an affecting or effective motion picture. Screenwriter Aubrey Lam Oi-wah, making her directorial debut, has in Twelve Nights a love story whose elements are ostensibly drawn from personal knowledge. Yet the characters and their relationships are so frustratingly immature that they warrant neither twelve nights of exposition nor ninety minutes of screen time.

This is not to say that the emotions experienced by Jeannie (Cecelia Cheung Pak-chi) and Alan (Eason Chan Yik-sun) are not sincere. It is just that the shallowness of their affair grows tiresome after the second or third night. The movie is not unlike a friend who continually relates his or her unhappy amour in which the same problems and predicaments are incessantly relived and replayed. After a while, one is tempted to shout, “Move on or shut up!”

The movie is structured in an episodic manner inspired by Ingmar Bergman’s Scenes From a Marriage, but minus the Swedish classic’s passion and insight. Through a period of twelve non-consecutive nights spread out over one year, we see the fluctuations in the on-again off-again romance of yuppies Jeannie and Alan. After the initial sexual heat cools down, they discover that, in his eyes, she is overbearing and, in her view, he is an insensitive jerk. Fair enough, but they keep on returning for more of the same. In the tenth night, one of the movie’s most heartfelt, she pours out her emotions in a soliloquy at the Hong Kong Airport Express Station, only to discover he has fallen asleep. And this is after over a half-dozen similarly irritable nights. Yet on the eleventh night they’re still in bed together. Sure, it happens in real life, but that doesn’t make it interesting.

Jeannie and Alan seem like kids play-acting at having a grown up relationship. Initially, she is involved with Johnny (Ronald Cheng Chung-kei), and he with Clara (Nicola Cheung Sum-yuet). Jeannie breaks up with Johnny over a rumour that he went to the movies with a blonde model. It never crosses her mind to question him directly or work things out; she merely calls it quits. Several months and many nights later, she finally learns there was no truth to the gossip. Though Jeannie voices regret, she never displays even the faintest perception that the relationship couldn’t have unraveled on such a flimsy pretext had not the bonds been weak to begin with. On Alan’s side, Clara comes across as so obnoxious that the viewer is rooting for the break-up.

That Twelve Nights seems like a production of the now-defunct UFO (United Filmmakers Organisation) is no coincidence. Peter Chan Ho-sun, UFO founder and now making films on both sides of the Pacific, is the executive producer. Aubrey Lam was the co-scriptwriter on such UFO productions as Age of Miracles, Whatever Will Be Will Be, Heaven Can’t Wait, and Wedding Days, films whose polished sheen, breezy style, and yuppie sensibility are marred by an irritating glibness. The same characteristics are evident in Twelve Nights. Where it works best is in its sometimes acute observations of human behaviour, the dialogue, and solid performances by Cecelia Cheung and Eason Chan. The technical aspects are first rate, with excellent camera work by Cheng Siu-keung and art direction by So Kwok-ho.

The twelve nights are book-ended by two nights with Nicholas Tse Ting-fung. The pre-credit sequence has a Wong Ka-wai quality, with Tse doing his laundry and waiting for a love that never comes. It also doesn’t make much sense until the end, when Tse and Jeannie meet, suggesting a never-ending cycle of frivolous romances that will hopefully not spawn any movie sequels.

This review is copyright (c) 2000 by Paul Fonoroff. All rights reserved. No part of the review may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the copyright owner.