Dĵ (2000)
Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner!


Reviewed by: Chinoco
Date: 09/03/2006
Summary: Good action-comedy film, with a great performance by Francis Ng.

I really enjoy watching and collecting Francis Ng movies, but it took me a while to buy this one. I guess I really wasn’t sure what kind of movie this was due to the strange title. Anyway, I finally watched it and it turned out to be very good.

Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner is about an undercover cop (Nick Cheung) who is framed for stealing drug money and the killing of his partner. Francis Ng is the coroner, and the one guy that can prove Cheung’s innocence or “Clean his name”. Things don’t get easy for them, as Francis is soon suspecting of aiding and abetting, and the entire HK police force headed by Ti Lung is soon after the both of them.

This film has a cool story, and very good action, but the best part is definitely the acting of Francis Ng. Once again showing his range, this time he portrays a nerd-like doctor in a great performance unlike anything he has ever done in other films. It also works very well as a “buddy film” as Nick’s brash, out of control cop character, after initially clashing with shy, geek-like doctor, ultimately befriends him. There is a romantic story involving Stephanie Che Yuen and Nick, but that really goes nowhere, and doesn’t add much to the story. It’s also good to see Ti Lung back, and he does a good job as the officer in charge of tracking down Nick and Francis. One minor complaint is the ending, as in my opinion the main bad guy gets treated too leniently. I found it a little unrealistic that they would let the villain off so easily after hearing how he “justified” his actions. Besides that one small complaint, I would recommend this comedy-action movie.

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 03/02/2003

2/5


Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 02/23/2003
Summary: Great fun

Never taking itself serious, Mr. Coroner is a fun-filled suspense film. I enjoyed it a lot, but Francis Ng goes overboard every time he speaks--which, mind you, is about 20 times. Fortunately, the humor works most of the time.

A bit predictable, but the suspense is still there.

[7/10]


Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 12/20/2001
Summary: Yikes, what are they doing!!

This movie tries to blend at lot of elements into one movie!! First you think it's a serious cop movie, then it turns comedy, then switches back to being serious and so on............but it didn't pull it off!!

Francis Ng shows once again he is a actor of many ranges, and once again, Nick Cheung shows he is no where near par to taking over Stephen Chow as the new King of comedy.
Ti Lung also stars but he seemed to over act in this movie.

At times confusing and unrealisitic, it is still worth a viewing!!

6/10


Reviewed by: Dyogenez
Date: 05/28/2001
Summary: Comedy and Action put together well

Clean my name is a similar story to "the fugative". Nick Cheung is framed of a crime and must "clean his name" while being hunted by the police (and others). Nick and Francis Ng Chun-Yu, who plays a very convincing nerd, are almost opposites who meet up. This makes for an interesting pairing and comical conversations through the movie. The story itself it easy to follow, yet leaves you wondering what will happen next. The few fight scenes aren't drawn out, but you still wonder what the outcome will be. It is a great detective-like story with acting to back it up.

8/10


Reviewed by: MrBooth
Date: 05/27/2001
Summary: Well made, intelligent film

CLEAN MY NAME, MR CORONER! (2000) - I loved this one. Really fresh and amusing and a tight script. Francis Ng's coroner is really good, as is Nick Cheung's cop framed for a crime he did not commit. Stephanie Che is rather cute too... more of her in future please.

Reviewer Score: 8

Reviewed by: David Harris
Date: 04/19/2001

The english title of this makes it appear to be a comedy which is really true - it does have its humourous moments as you might expect as it stars Francis Ng and Nick Cheung but it isn't really a full blown comedy.

Nick Cheung is a funny guy (imo) and I feel sure that there is a lot more to come from this talent. Francis Ng adds another string to his bow by playing an uptight coroner (and very well he does too).

Ti Lung plays a crooked cop and does wonderfully as you'd expect a veteran of his stature to. It's a shame that we don't get to see more of him although I think it maybe by choice that we don't.

This doesn't easily fit into any one genre so if you like films that mix things up a bit try this!


Reviewed by: ipkevin
Date: 02/07/2001
Summary: WOW. One of the best-made HK films in years!

Clean My Name Mr. Coroner is hands-down the most solid mainstream HK film I've seen in years. "Solid" does not mean "best". This little mystery-thriller-comedy doesn't aim too high and thus never reaches one of those joyous cinematic heights that more ambitious films may reach. However, it makes up for this by being extremely well-made from beginning to end. Most HK films these days tend to be sloppy: Their plots don't make much sense and they gloss over any problems in the most superficial manner. Worst of all, unlike the past, the pacing in current films tends to be off, drawing further attention to the flaws. All these factors serve to make Mr.Coroner's tight plotting, perfect pacing, and smart script all the more impressive. It is a consistently interesting film that manages to surprise even when you think you have it all figured out. Nick Cheung and Francis Ng are good, both toning down their more annoying tendencies to give solid performances. Stephanie Chie as the love interest is also quite good and all three have wonderful chemistry together. Admist the mystery-thriller machinations, writer-director James Yuen even manages to find time to elicit genuine emotion and explore the characters. So what you have is a well-written and well-acted film that is consistently entertaining, thrilling, funny, and touching. What are you waiting for? Go see it!

If there is a flaw, it's that there are no moments in the film that wow you. Any wow factor comes from the fact that it's an extremely competently made commercial film in a time when most HK films are intermittantly good at best. However, this doesn't mean Clean My Name Mr Coroner is boring! It should entertain all but the most jaded moviegoers and would make a fine evening of entertainment. I look forward to James Yuen's next movie.


Reviewed by: Paul Fonoroff
Date: 11/10/2000

Two of Hong Kong’s most prolific actors are provided with somewhat offbeat roles in Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner!, which despite its humorous title is not a comedy. Comedian Nick Cheung, who seems to be in at least two pictures a month, is allowed to display more depth than in the typical Nick Cheung part, while Francis Ng is cast totally against type.

These are the chief virtues of writer-director James Yuen Sai-seng’s crime caper. The plot itself, with undercover cop Fai (Nick Cheung) framed for both murder and the theft of a huge sum of cash, is routine Cantonese film fare. The true culprit’s identity isn’t much of a surprise, and the final escapade in which all the loose ends are too neatly tied up is a bit too convenient. Thus, it is a tribute to Yuen’s pen that getting from Points A to Z is as entertaining as it is.

Francis Ng, whose screen persona as a violently eccentric cop/gangster/whatever has begun to pal through repetition, is refreshing as bow-tied, mild-mannered police coroner Dr. Ko. He is a rich Casper Milquetoast, an “early to bed early to rise” fellow with no vices apart from boring other people to death. Ko’s aiding and abetting Fai represents the first time he has ever strayed from the path, a move that enriches both his life and the entire movie.

Nick Cheung is provided with his usual lowbrow comic schtik, but as a man working undercover for five years, the coarseness goes beyond the level of a dirty comic book. The cop, unlike most Nick Cheung characters, is allowed to grow, to show compassion, and, in short, to bare some resemblance to a credible human being. For those who judge Cheung’s acting from the dozens of movie appearances he’s made in the past 3 years, it comes as a welcome surprise.

Ti Lung brings the proper sense of authority and gravity to his role of police supervisor, and Stephanie Che is ingratiating as a bar manageress and Fai’s love interest. In the context of recent Hong Kong (as opposed to international) cinema, Clean My Name, Mr. Coroner! rates 3 or 3 1/2 stars, though one cannot help but wonder how much more fun it would have been had the content been tailored to fit the wacky facetiousness implied by the unique title.

2 1/2 stars

This review is copyright (c) 2000 by Paul Fonoroff. All rights reserved. No part of the review may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Reviewer Score: 5