豬扒大聯盟
The Irresistible Piggies (2002)


Reviewed by: xiaoka
Date: 03/08/2004
Summary: not horrible... a bit enjoyable even?


i agree w/ the previous reviews... if you go in w/ low expectations, you can't really be disappointed by this one. The opening and premise are pretty good, but the second half degrades into a somewhat crapfest.... Michelle Reis, Stephen Feng and Raymond Wong disappear for long stretches...and unfortunately thats the undoing of this film...

Still, the Karen Mok scenes are good... and Michelle Reis w/ the comb-over is entertaining in itself...


Reviewer Score: 6

Reviewed by: zarrsadus
Date: 02/26/2004
Summary: Funny but poor story

I enjoyed the movie a lot, some great jokes in there had me laughing a lot. Scroll down to read other reviewer's synopsis of the plot about ugly ducklings and "Pork Chops."
The stereotypical English-speaking CEO was really funny I thought just because of how he was portrayed. Do people who live in HK really think white people are that dumb? Well either way, the joke with him really worked I thought because he was just so stupid and stereotypical womanizer. The girls were ugly at first and of course later on you saw them look like models. The gay guy was really funny as well.
Ah what can I say, lots of laughs but don't expect a real plot here. A little over half-way through the movie (VCD disc 2 heh), the plotline just went downhill. I don't know where the whole corporate embezzling scheme came from but it was convenient to make the overall story work for the girls I guess. If the movie had a more coherent plot this would be better, but as it is, it's still really funny. 7/10

Reviewer Score: 7

Reviewed by: Sydneyguy
Date: 05/27/2003
Summary: Ok-ish

I actually did like this movie. Even though this is suppose to be a comedy movie, i enjoyed more as a light hearted drama (because i only laughed once, so how can this be a comedy??)

A common tail of ugly duckling to beautiful swan, each of the "pork chops" ugliest are quite interesting. Sorry i lie, the bold head and the hairy woman are the interesting "ugliest" 2 of the woman have.

Anyway i didn't fast forward through any of this so thats a good sign. Jordan Chan plays a gay guy too well, and the bold hair cut guy (sorry don't know his name) is in this too and that is about the only funny part of the film. Everyone else plays there roles well.

I can't find much more to say about this movie, but it's a good feel good movie to watch.

Am i giving this too much by rating this:

6.5/10


Reviewed by: magic-8
Date: 12/31/2002
Summary: Better Than Expected

Liu Kim Wa's "The Irresistible Piggies," from a script by Wong Jing, is a modern ugly duckling tale. Michelle Reis, Karen Mok, Suki Kwan and Kelly Lin are known in their workplace as the four pork chops for their physical blemishes, from over-active testosterone to buck-teeth to female balding to birthmarks. Instead of looking inward for beauty, the heroines go for what is being opted by many in today's world: surgery and other extremes to rid themselves of the debilitating physical characteristics. Jordan Chan, overplaying a gay designer in a very camp manner, is the catalyst for the women to achieve their goals.

"The Irresistible Piggies" may be the most successful Wong Jing comedy since "Tricky Master 2000." Jing passes the director's job over to Liu, who does a very capable job, even using some camera tricks to elicit comedy, like playing with camera speed. The four pork chops get their revenge with some funny and some typically mean spirited Wong Jing style pranks.

Overall, "The Irresistible Piggies" is standard Hong Kong comedy fare, but it is highly watchable, thanks in great part to the female leads Reis, Mok, Kwan and Lin.


Reviewed by: danton
Date: 12/26/2002

I watched this with extremely low expectations, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. While certainly no masterpiece, this office romance comedy is a pleasant time-waster with some truly funny moments, a quick narrative pace that keeps the story moving at just enough speed to prevent the viewer from realizing how silly the whole plot is, and most importantly, a quartet of beautiful leading ladies who are visibly enjoying themselves while portraying ugly "porkchops", i.e. women who are each burdened with one disfiguring trait: Michelle Reis is balding, Suki Kwan has buckteeth, and Kelly Lin sports a large red birthmark on her cheek. However, they all pale in comparison to Karen Mok. Having seen her in God of Cookery, I knew she had no hesitation making herself look unattractive, but in this film she becomes almost unrecognizable as a decidedly masculine security guard with out of control body hair growth.
All 4 ladies are constantly made fun of because of their physical appearance, and when they end up losing their jobs, they decide to - with the help of Jordan Chan (playing a somewhat bizarre cross-dressing transsexual) - seek the assistance of a doctor to improve their looks. What follows are some rather hilarious depictions of the various treatments they undergo (way worse than anything Sammi Cheng endures in Love on a Diet), but the end result is never in doubt: when they finally emerge from their bandages, the "porkchops" have turned into drop dead gorgeous gals with attitude who now engage in settling some old scores with their old nemesis, a bitchy career woman at their old office. In the world of movies, physical beauty always carries the day, so the film ends with a predictable triumph and with all 4 girls (well, almost all 4) hitched to a decent guy.

Overall, the film is mindless fun. Marginal recommendation.


Reviewed by: i3ubbi3
Date: 09/05/2002
Summary: This Movie waz cool!!!!!

I guess that most romantic comedies leave to to crack up, but this movie was more than just funny, it was also catchy. Starts off with 4 ugly pork chops, most favourable was Kelly Lin
She had a birthmark, but all the others were also there to make up the meaning of the movie. Stephen Fung portrayed quite an interesting character, as a player who became a one lover guy, despite his untrustworthy personality we are positioned to view him in a positive point of view. A favourable part was when he was perving at Kelly and then as the car crashes and she turns around he just screams in fright. Overall this was such a comedy and enjoyable movie and i would rate it a 10/10. Personally out of most hk movies this one had a pretty well organised music soundtrack which i liked and cool introduction and very few flaws.

Reviewer Score: 10

Reviewed by: risbac
Date: 08/15/2002
Summary: Super silly HK comedy... has its moments.

At least this is bad the way a HK movie should be bad : super stupid jokes, bad plot, incredible ideas. It's pure Wong Jing, but can't match with his best efforts.

Reason one : the directing. Pretty awful, very MTV with useless effect. Can make you throw up easily. The biggest lack of the movie

Reason two : the young cast lacks skills for humor. Jordan and Karen tries their best with their incredibly silly characters, and they do well. The others fall a bit short.

Overall that's a cheap comedy, but it's so silly it's funny from time to time, as long as you turn your brain off. Unfortunately, the ending is quite bad, after a OK second third.


Reviewed by: reelcool
Date: 08/06/2002
Summary: Resist this movie

This is an awful movie. Often times, HK movie makers have good ideas for movies, but totally screw it up when they actually make it. Like that movie "Lavender", with Kelly Chen, where an angel (Takeshi Kaneshiro)lands on her balcony. Good idea, but what a mess of a movie (see my review). "Irresistible Piggies", is even a greater mess, and should be seen with "low-to-no" expectations. On the bright side, the movie does have its moments, and really does "crack you up". Which is my main complaint, that these movies could have been so much better if they had only invested a little more time on the movie. I know HK is notorious for making films without scripts, and shooting them in less time than the USA does for a commercial, but a little more effort wouldn't hurt. I'm hoping the HK movie producers actually read this - how silly is that?


Reviewed by: annelam
Date: 06/14/2002
Summary: Pork Chops anyone?

I wonder why the title I saw was "The Irresistible Women" instead. Anyway, this movie is a comic tale of four women. Michelle-who's bald, Suki Kwan who's teeth is jutting out, Karen Mok who's having more hair than usual and Kelly Lin who has a big ugly birthmark on her face who go through a major transformation to become irresistible women, bringing into the movie the classic ugly-duckling turning into swan plot. All the women work in a telecommunications service company called LMF (London Mobile Factory), (hmmm or is it named after the HK singing band actually hahaah) where they are rivalled by a power hungry woman, Christine, who plots to sack numerous ppl in an attempt to gain absolute power in the company. The reason the girls get sacked was because they weren't beautiful enough (they're known as PORK CHOPS!) and with the help of a gay hand-phone designer, played by Jordan Chan they decided to give her a lesson. They do this by going through a total transformation in their appearance, making them 'irresistible', which enables them to join back the company with higher salary and under a new identity. Ok.. that about sums it all. Now.. comes the critisism! How can somebody think of such rediculous ideas to beautify themselves?? And in Karen Mok's case, it's totally unbelievable! The movie actually started off quite well with its introduction of characters but soon too much of slapstick in the later part of the movie makes it so unenjoyable. However, I should give a different opinion on Stephen Fung though. Instead of his usual Mr. Nice Guy characters, this good-for-nothing yet adorable character suits him really well. You'd love to hate him yet you kind of like his cowardness! And listen to the way he describes office work! My-my.. that's pretty impressive. Jordan Chan is really great acting as the gay friend. He's cute and provides lots of humour to the film. But one thing I didn't really understand was the ending. Did Jordan really liked Karen or was it just a night of passion? Hmmm.. maybe someone can review it and tell me! Yet another comedy which only deserves 4.5/10

Reviewer Score: 4