Display [English] [Big5]
You are currently displaying English
Ho Meng-Hua  ♂
Aliases:  Ho Meng-Hua,  Ho Mong-Hwa,  Homer Gaugh
Born: 1923 - Died: May 19th, 2009

Filmography (1953-1992)
  Assistant Director (5 films)
    Orchid of the Valley (1954)    
    Rainstorm in Chinatown (1956)    
    Miss Kikuko (1956)    
    Nonya and Baba (1956)    
    The Valley of the Lost Soul (1957)    
  Director (58 films)
    Red Lantern (1958)    
    An Appointment After Dark (1958)    
    Enchanted Melody (1959)    
    Day-Time Husband (1959)    
    The Model's Romance (1959)    
    The Secret of Miss Pai (1960)    
    East Flows the River (1960)    
    Malayan Affair (1960)    
    Rendezvous in the South Sea (1960)    
    The Wild Girl (1960)    
    Till the Clouds Roll by (1961)    
    The Girl Next Door (1961)    
    A Maid from Heaven (1963)    
    The Adulteress (1963)    
    My Lucky Star (1963)    
    To Catch a Murderer (1963)    
    Mung Li Chuen (1963)    
    The Warlord and the Actress (1964)    
    Between Tears and Laughter (1964)    
    Crocodile River (1965)    
    Princess Iron Fan (1966)    
    The Monkey Goes West (1966)    
    The Cave of the Silken Web (1967)    
    Susanna (1967)    
    The Midnight Murder (1967)    
    The King with My Face (1967)    
    The Jade Raksha (1968)    
    Killer Darts (1968)    
    The Land of Many Perfumes (1968)    
    Vengeance Is a Golden Blade (1969)    
    Lady of Steel (1970)    
    The Golden Lion (1971)    
    Ambush (1971)    
    The Long Chase (1971)    
    The Lady Hermit (1971)    
    The Human Goddess (1972)    
    The Black Enforcer (1972)    
    The Kiss of Death (1973)    
    The Master of Kung Fu (1973)    
    Young Passion (1974)    
    The Sinful Adulteress (1974)    
    Black Magic (1975)    
    All Mixed Up (1975)    
    The Flying Guillotine (1975)    
    Black Magic, Part II (1976)    
    Oily Maniac (1976)    
    The Dragon Missile (1976)    
    The Criminals (1976)    
    The Mighty Peking Man (1977)    
    Dreams of Eroticism (1977)    
    The Vengeful Beauty (1978)    
    Shaolin Hand Lock (1978)    
    The Psychopath (1978)    
    Mad Mad Kung Fu (1979)    
    Abbot of Shaolin (1979)    
    Mr. Kwong Tung and the Robber (1980)    
    Swift Sword (1980)    
    Evil Black Magic (1992)    
  Actor (1 film)
    Tales of Larceny (1973) ... 1) Soldier at festival
  Writer (11 films)
    The Valiant Dog (1953)    
    The Mystery of the Human Head (1955)    
    Romance in the West Chamber (1955)    
    Autumn Affair (1956)    
    Enchanted Melody (1959)    
    Malayan Affair (1960)    
    The Wild Girl (1960)    
    The Jade Raksha (1968)    
    Vengeance Is a Golden Blade (1969)    
    The Long Chase (1971)    
    The Human Goddess (1972)    
  One of Shaw Brothers' most prolific directors, Ho Meng-hua was a Cantonese born in Shanghai in 1923. He studied at a Shanghai theatrical academy and moved to Hong Kong in 1949, joined Shaw Brothers in 1955. By 1957 he had worked his way up to director, his directorial debut being An Appointment After Dark released in 1958. He moved on to direct approximately fifty films for Shaw Brothers, ranging to all genres and reflecting the changes in Hong Kong audience tastes from female-oriented romances of the 1960s to the male-dominated action pictures of the 1970s. His most memorable pictures was the quartet of fantastic comedies based on the classic novel Journey to the West: The Monkey Goes West, Princess Iron Fan, The Cave of Silken Web, and The Land of Many Perfumes. Ho's last film for Shaw Brothers was Swift Sword, released in 1980, soon after which he retired from the motion picture business.

- from the Celestial Pictures release of The Lady Hermit

Passed away in Hong Kong on May 19th 2009.