You are currently displaying English
表姐,你好野! (1990)
Her Fatal Ways


Reviewed by: dandan
Date: 08/21/2006
Summary: better than expected...

now, this was suprisingly good fun. essentially it's a fish out of water / opposites attract cop movie. carol cheng escorts a fugitive / witness from the mainland to hong kong, where she hands him over to (big) tony leung, a hong kong cop. when the witness escapes cheng and leung head after him, together...

sure, it's a little dated, sure it's packed full with stereotypes, but it's also got quite a sweet quality to it, carol cheng is ace, tony leung rarely lets you down and alfred cheung seems a lot less annoying than i remember. all in all, an enjoyable little film...

i was also amused to learn that "dandan noodles" exist...


Reviewed by: pjshimmer
Date: 03/02/2003

Frankly, I don't think highly of this movie. There's enough stereotyping that made me feel uncomfortable. Jokes are mildly funny at the most. Highly "out of date" silly material, which is just that.

[6/10]


Reviewed by: Mikestar*
Date: 11/16/2002
Summary: Fatally funny!

The rough English translation of this film's title 'Cousin, you're great!', highlights the true focus and value of this movie

Set in Hong Kong and centred on the adventures of a visiting policewoman from the Mainland, the narrative is strongly linked to local identity and fears surrounding the 1997-handover.
The policewoman (Dodo Chueng) and her assitant (director, Alfred Cheung) ostensibly travel to the crown colony to work in conjunction with local authorities in overcoming a criminal network. Whilst in Hong Kong they experience a distinct culture clash, confronted with a capitalist democratic lifestyle.

Much of the narrative's drive and comedy comes from playing on stereotypes and marking difference (including table manners, drinking habits and sexual attitudes) between the two regions. Despite initial jarring of the factions, they soon come together to form an effective (if somewhat unconventional) force.

Whilst the narrative is satirical at large, it does encounter some serious issues. In particular the devlopment of a potential romance between the policewoman and her Hong Kong counterpart (played by Tony Leung Ka-fai), problematizes the obstacles of boundaries and politics. Whilst this romance remains largely unrealised in this film, it is further expressed in later sequels.

A hearty and satirical comedy that plays upon differences between Hong Kong and the Mainland, Chueng's film remains a sublte negotiation of handover fears and futurity.


Reviewed by: ButterflyMurders
Date: 06/11/2002
Summary: Her Laughing Ways

I loved this film! A great mixture of commentary and comedy, and some nice serves at Mainland China. It's films like these that I like from Alfred Cheung. Carol Cheng is marvellous as the Mainlander cop, she manages to humanize her character when it would have been too easy to vulgarize and over-act. I suppose a major fault is a lot of the comedy is quite local based (an obvious example, the drunken old Taiwanese geezers parodying the Han Seng Bank's New Year greeting) which probably limits its appeal to international audiences. But there are still enough comic moments without cultural references to make this intelligible for everyone. 8/10


Reviewed by: danton
Date: 03/21/2002

One of the biggest comedy hits of the early nineties, the starring vehicle for Dodo Cheng has not aged as gracefully as other films from that period. The story is basically a remake of the old Garbo comedy Ninotchka, with Dodo playing a mainland cop who's in HK working with Tony Leung Ka-Fai to apprehend a criminal. Much of the film's humour comes from the fish out of water aspect of the story - Dodo plays her character as a walking caricature of the spartan and somewhat unsophisticated communist cop who enters HK spouting maoist slogans and calling everyone comrade, but eventually warms to some aspects of capitalist society. This type of storyline may have offered some consolation to HKers worried about the pending handover, but it doesn't feel very authentic or poignant in its portrayal of mainland stereotypes (Stephen Chiau parodied these much more effectively and viciously in From Beijing with Love). Nevertheless, the movie does feature a great performance from Dodo, and it should be applauded for trying to concentrate on situational humour driven by dialogue rather than low-brow sightgags and slapstick.

Marginal recommendation.


Reviewed by: yuenfoo
Date: 01/09/2002
Summary: What if without Dodo Cheng?

How would this film turn out to be without Dodo Cheng? The unswer is "bad".
This is probably one of Dodo's best performance so far, and we all hope that more to come very soon! (Hopefully, she will eventually agree to make a film, with good script....)
And this role, I doubt anyone could do it better than her.
She is one of the top comedian in Hong Kong that still making sense!


Reviewed by: Inner Strength
Date: 12/11/2001
Summary: CHECK THIS

An outstanding film, is the only way I can describe it. All the main cast are very funny, but Carol Cheng wins it for me.

This is really a comedy, however, there are a lot of issues raised in this film, showing the differences (no matter how small) between Hong Kong and the mainland. Very impressed with the work Alfred Cheung did on this, he has thought it out very well, unlike a lot of his other films. The sequel is worth seeing too, but I'm not sure about the 2 afterwards, as they lose the appeal.

The story is of a police woman (Carol Cheng) from China who escorts a prisoner back to Hong Kong, but when the prisoner escapes, she teams up with fellow Hong Kong officer Tony Leung. Together, along with Carol Chengs assistent (played by the director, Alfred Cheung) they track the psioner down, using different tactics. The jokes are just non-stop, and I have to admit that I can't remember too many other films where I couldn't stop laughing. This really is funny.

A great comedy, and at the same time a serious issue that not many films have covered (the very different ways of leading life between both China, and Hong Kong...and as another joke in the movie, Taiwan!). Also, some great action scenes, because after all, this is a police movie. You will also notice by the sound that this is one of the first HK movies to be shot in sync sound, you really will notice it when you compare it to all the other movies shot at that time, and even loads which followed before more people were doing it.

I highly recommend this movie, I promise you will not be able to stop laughing, even if you hate most HK comedies! This is one of the VERY FEW comedies to get top marks from me.

Rating (out of 5): 5


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Do Do Cheng's is a Chinese policewoman who along with hersidekick/cousin, Alfred Cheung, are on a mission to escort a criminal hiding in mainland China to Hong Kong. Leung is the Hong Kong police officer assigned to show her around town. Whether it's the clash between Cheng and Leung's father who just happened to be loyal to the Taiwanese government, or Cheng and Cheung characters' view of the capitalistic Hong Kong, the jokes just keep coming one after another. It's a must see.

[Reviewed by Edith Fung]


Reviewed by: hkcinema
Date: 12/08/1999

Cheng Shih-nan (Carol Cheng) and her cousin Hsiou-sheng (Alfred Cheung) are two mainland China's inspectors who have to go in Hong Kong in order to escort a prisoner (Michael Chow). When arriving in Hong Kong, they will be assisted by a local inspector named Wu Wei-kuo (Tony Leung). But the prisoner manage to escape which will force Shih-nan and her brother, both die hard communist, to stay longer in a city where capitalism rule. Although there is plenty of cultural jokes that I didn't get, I really liked that film slightly inspired from BEVERLY HILL'S COP. But I must warn you, in order to enjoy the humour of this film, it is important to understand some of the differences between the chineses living in Mainland China and the ones living in Hong Kong. As it concern my review, I must say Alfred Cheung directing is quite good and the acting is great, especially Carol Cheng who give an amazing performance, she succeed at been funny without falling into slapstick or vulgarity. I was also surprised by Michael Chow's performance as the ruthless (but somehow unfortunate) prisoner. Another interesting thing about this film is that it was obviously shot in synch sound, which was very rare back then.

[Reviewed by Martin Sauvageau]


Reviewed by: spinali
Date: 12/08/1999
Summary: NULL

What happens when a straight-arrow mainlander policewoman (Carol Cheng) has to work with a street-savvy HK cop (Leung Ka Fai)? Less fun than you'd think. Followed by sequels.

(2.5/4)



[Reviewed by Steve Spinali]

Reviewer Score: 6